Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Where are the 5 fire points on a Chimera?
I used to consider their where the "Lasguns" mounted on the hull, but people at my club are arguing that it might not be it ...
So, where are they?
And if one of the above, how are they fired? 360 degree or less...
P. 39 of the IG codex, under fire points, "Five models can fire from the chimera's top hatch... ...but for simplicity we assume all shots to be taken from the top hatch".
Yes they have a 360 degrees arc of fire.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
But does the vehicule block LOS?
Let say I have a squad of enemies in front off me.
Will all the fire points be available to shoot from?
Or, if I have enemies on my left ...
Does the fire points on the right can be used?
according to the codex, all LOS and everything else is taken from the top hatch. so the answer to your question is no. it does not block LOS.
I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Any other opinions?
Cause I found this on Dakka Dakka that says it does block LOS :
DakkaDakka - Warhammer 40K Forums - (New Codex) Chimera and Fire Points
(It is in the posts at the bottom of the page)
I can't see how this isn't plainly clear, well to me anyway. I imagine the guys inside popping open the hatch at the back and firing out, therefore LOS is only blocked if there is something taller than the Chimera in the way. They can certainly fire 360 and at any models near the vehicle.
The standard rules about cover apply when firing at units (any part of a model obscured...if majority then unit in cover).
Otherwise it starts getting a bit crazy...
Now to throw a curve ball, what about template weapons?
If I fire my four flamer squad from inside a chimera, do I place the templates on the door (the firing point) ?
Can I have my template touch the transport, as I recall template weapons cannot willingly hit friendly units. Or, do I place the template in contact with the edge of the chimera chasis and work it out from there?
So far I've been disembarking my flamer squads when shooting to avoid the issue, but I'd like to be able to torch something from the safety of my chimera.
My opinion is that you can imagine the flame template may be over the chassis, but in reality the flames are above the hull and not touching. That's the way I do it. Doing it from the hull gives an unfair distance increase.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!
I actually think the LOS question is valid. Think about it, if someone is crazy-close to the vehicle, gunners at the top hatch might not be able to see around the bulk of the vehicle. True LOS is the only way to be sure, look from the hatch of the turret. If you can see the model you can hit it, if you can't see it, nadda.
I've always been firing templates from the top hatch as well with the fairness of range argument.