Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just a quick question. In what types of situations do you make use of the "Incoming!" order? I imagine it could be useful for helping hold an objective but I wanted to know of any other uses people have found.
That's pretty much all I've been able to make it work with, and it is quite handy late in the game. If you wanted to go nuts, you could use it on vets with the Forward Scouts rule, and what you have are Imperial Guardsmen disguised as Eldar Pathfinders capping an objective. Good stuff there.
Formerly known as SimulatedSnowman
Correct me if I'm wrong, but using something that adds +2 to the cover save on a normal cover save (4+) gives you a 2+ save. The camo cloaks are pointless.
I thought "incoming" only conferred a +1 to a unit's cover save? (Hence: 4+ cover save, +1 for incoming and +1 for camo cloaks = 2+ cover save.) Apologies if I have this wrong, I'll recheck my codex tonight.
I don't have my rulebook in front of me, but if you use Incoming--since its on your turn--is the affect unit free to act normally on your next player turn, or do they skip your next player turn as per Going to Ground?
They miss their next turn, but you can always use Get Back In The Fight to avoid that.
I use this order to get troops 2+ cover saves on an objective as well, you'll be amazed how much fire power some opponents unleash to shoot them off it!
Last edited by carrotman50; July 7th, 2009 at 17:58.
For get your Mr T, John Mayer leaks pure awesomeness with every note he plays.
Vets, camo coaks, incoming, even out in the open these guys have a 4+ save.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
I have used it before on a squad screening for a HWS. I used "Incoming!" on an infantry squad that was in front of my HWS which were both in open terrain. So my Infantry squad had a 5+ cover save while my HWS kept a 4+ cover save. Oddly the Infantry squad lasted longer although did take more hits than the HWS. The HWS I just rolled bad saves. It did last however to turn 4 so I was happy.