Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok. Questions about two things I need cleared up, thanks ahead of time for reading.
1) Orbital Bombardment,
May it be fired on your first turn? (IE like a heavy weapon). In which manner is it shot, just like any other blast weapon that rolls for scatter, except with infinite range? Do you Need LoS? (Also I've tried lurking around forums to find out and I read something about needing to roll for reserves?)
2) Iron Halo
One per army? I think I read it somewhere but I can't find It. Can you have more than one Chapter Master (rules wise, because I have a fluffy idea xD)
Can be fired on the first turn like a normal heavy weapon. You do not need line of sight as its Ordanance, you dont roll for reserve. You roll for scatter, then wound. Easy. Some folk think you cannot use the OB when in a rhino, though I disagree - firing points =)
You can take more than one Chapter Master, you just have to find the fluff to balance it.
Using two Chapter Masters isn't advised. In fact, in low points games, using even one isnt always worth it, but two OB's on turn 1 is very sweet, believe me =)
Iron Halo was one per army in the older Codexes.
Now they are standard issue on Captains and Masters. So you can have 2 in a regular game
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Sweet, thanks. Also I noticed in Orbital Bombardments profile it says Ordnance and Barrage but it doesn't say large blast, is it single target?! LOL
Its in the FAQ.Its the big 5inch blast marker, same with the Whirlwind...all Barrage weapons are also Blast weapons, and all Ordnance Blast weapons use the Large Blast marker unless otherwise specified
"Into the fires of battle, unto the anvil of war!"
-This space for rent-
Salamander project log
Its been disputed in a few forums as far as I know.
Based on the rules, OB counts as firing a ranged weapon, so IMO its fine to shoot from the firing points on a rhino. The one restriction is he cannot move in the same turn that the OB is fired, so it does mean the Rhino is locked in place for a turn.
Not wanting to start a new thread to ask another question I thought I might ask here as I've gotten alot of help here already ^^
Are you allowed to take empty drop pods? Say I take 5, and fill 3 with Thunder Fire Cannons, can the other two be left in reserve and come out later for their storm bolters while the first 3 come out with Drop Pod Assault?
You can take empty drop pods, yea.
I've abused this a few times by fielding a list with 3 pods (all for tacticals) before, and against enemies that I didn't want to deepstrike into (like a green tide), I'd drop the pods empty and keep the tacticals at the home objective.
The only restriction I know of is the Pods must be taken as a dedicated transport for another unit.