The Complex Unit Advantage - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The Complex Unit Advantage

I'm pretty new to warhammer and have been thinking about this for a while but would like to know if everyone has realized this and just accepted it or if I am missing something.

It seems to me that a complex unit has a huge advantage over regular units when taking saving throws.

As per the rules on page 25 of the rulebook it says that wounds in a complex unit have to be allocated. Now take a typical Guardsmen squad with 7 guardsmen and a sergeant, a grenade launcher, and vox caster. If this unit takes 20 wounds the player will have to allocate 2 wounds to each guardsmen. Since they are allocated though, it is possible that the unit will live even with 10 wounds.

Say the unit takes six unsaved wounds but they are on the sergeant, grenade launcher, and vox caster (each one has two wounds allocated to them). Thats only three lost models for six unsaved wounds compared to if the unit was made up entirely of the same model and had to take all 6.

Now maybe they did this to be fair since losing your three special units might be worse than loosing six guardsmen. but if you had a special weapons team and it was the three guardsmen who took the wounds instead of the three special weapons it would work the other way.

I sort of felt like I had a question about this but can't seem to think of anything, I guess Im just sort of confused about the rule.