Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, I was wondering how everyone classifies their Valk/Vend outflanking movement, ie combat speed or crusing speed. and the distance travelled for the initial movement onto the board.
I measured the hull (nose to drop bay) to be 8 inches which leaves the tail hanging off the board. So if you move onto the board with the hull perpendicular to the board edge I would assume it to be cruising speed...only 1 weapon could be fired plus defensive weapons.
On the other hand, if you move onto the board with the hull parallel to the board edge it would be about a 6" move which leaves a wing hanging off.
Am I doing this right or is this totaly illegal and out to lunch ?
Thanks for your input!
Games workshop has left this one unanswered as of yet. All standard tanks can fit in on a 6" move and I tend to consider barely moving onto the table as only a 6" move and therefore combat speed. One could also take the technicality of the base to define the movement, as long as the Base has moved onto the table by only 6" then it is combat speed.
In these grey areas all players have to be a bit flexible. If not then no baneblade would ever move on from reserve. With a 6" movement and a 8-10" model.
It is also a good thing to agree upon what counts as target area on the Valk as well. The rules book technically says "HULL" but I find that it is reasonable to both players to say it is the hull back to the end of the ramp plus the wings out to the hardpoints. Untill GW clears this up, it is best to talk to your opponent prior to the game.
Thanks for the reply. I never thought about the baneblade idea...that will be a helpful point to make.
The Adepticon ruling is that you are allowed to leave part of a model hanging off board when (and only when) it's moving on from reservere. So your landraider doesn't have to drive on side ways to be able to fire. (You are allowed of course to physically put it all the way on the table so it doesn't fall down go boom.)
My ruling on this is that you have to have the entire hull of the vehicle on the table. For valkyries I wouldn't count the back end past the ramp or the wings to be part of the hull.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11