Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question about how the rules work on adding HQs to units in reserve. For example for a Ravengaurd army, I know I can add Shrike to a unit of assault marines in reserve, and thus they will all have Infiltrate. Meaning I can infiltrate or hold back and use outflank.
But what if I want to add another HQ to that same unit, such as a jump pack chaplain? Can I have him join the unit, and then will he get infiltrate as well and be able to be held in reserve and use outflank?
This has been debated both ways before here Shrike Infiltrating another IC thread (clicky) (Shrike - Infiltrating - with another IC) and it is generally a stale question with reasons for and against infiltrating another IC with Shrike. The final question really comes down to "Define 'His' squad - is it just units that are 'squads' by their title like Tactical Squad, or is it all models attached to him".
I personally ask my opponents permission to take the rules as I see them, and if he says no, then we roll for it out of sportsmanship. If he refuses to roll for it, I simply dont play.
For the record though, I feel Shrike should be able to infiltrate another IC, such as a jump chappy, as well as the assault squad according to the way his rule is written.
CR (Shrike - Infiltrating - with another IC)
Seems fine as long as the character does not have anything which would make it illegal for him to infiltrate - such as terminator armor. Which I'm pretty sure is not allowed to infiltrate, although that might have been a 4th edition rule. I believe bikes are also not allowed to infiltrate. Everything else however should be able too infiltrate juts fine.
Anyway, its reasonable, the RAW is defiantly not clear one way or another.
Thankyfully anything can infiltrate, so i have my funky assaullt termys 12 inches away with fleet is nice and scary
OK guys thanks for the info. That's kind of how I expected it go to. Some players may not care, some might say no I can't, and I will ask them to roll it off, as I don't see how the rules really specify it either way.
And in this edition of the rules, anything can infiltrate. Bikes, termis all of it. In fact SM scout bikers have infiltrate if I recall.