Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi all, I've been playing 40K for a while now, but I do have a slightly noobish question and I couldn't see it being answered anywhere else, and can't find a reference to it in the rulebook. But it came up in a match and we couldn't really come to an agreement over it.
Can Eldar farseers and co cast pyshic powers while locked in an assault?
My friend's Farseer was busy hacking up a squad and began their turn in close combat with a squad already. However before procedding to the assault phase, he began casting pyshic powers such as Fortune on himself and Guide on a nearby Eldar unit.
I argued close combat would be too distracting to cast any pyshic powers, and he argued that there is no reference we could find in the rule book against it. So I just thought I'd ask here, any ideas?
Cheers again guys
Some psychic powers can be used in combat, some cannot. If they can, it will say specifically that it can be used in close combat in the description of the power (nurgle's rot, gift of chaos, etc). So have your mate check his codex, and that should give you your answers/
How many guardsmen does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
None, their lasguns work fine.
Eldritch Storm and Mind War are "instead of firing another weapon" shooting phase powers. All the others are used at the start of the turn and don't require line of sight. I don't have my rulebook with me atm, so make of that what you will.
Only Psychic shooting attacks are disallowed (unless specifically exempted of this rule) when locked in combat. So as long as the Farseer didn't use Eldritch Storm or Mind War he was legit.
Ok, fortune favours the Eldar it seems.
Thanks again for clearing it up