Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I searched and couldn't find this, so here goes:
Can a libby in termie armour gate to a teleport homer(not a locator beacon)? He's deepstriking and in terminator armour, so it seems to meet the requirements for a teleport homer, thoughts?
"Science has made us gods even before we are worthy of being men." - Jean Rostand
The answer is yes, a Librarian that deep strikes does using gate of infinity wouldn't scatter. Teleport homers work for anything that "teleports," which means drop pods, jump packs, and skimmers entering don't count. However, gate of infinity is quite literally teleportation, so it works.
Note: this shouldn't change even if you give the librarian a jump pack, since gate of infinity is still teleporting.
A Librarian without Terminator armor can defenitely not lock onto a Teleport Homer if you follow RAW. But here again I'm not sure how it's intended. The Gate to Infinity does work like teleportation, but it reads nowhere that it's actually classified as such. I tend to be careful and stick to RAW in this case...
As for whether Gate of Infinity counts, it would. You are using the deep striking rules and not using jump packs or gliding or drop pods to come in, but honest to goodness teleportation.
I actually asked this question to a GW manager a while back, and while we didn't go into minute detail, his interpretation of RAW was that you could technically galavant around the map using teleport homers. It wasn't a terrible stategy but didn't really work at lower points. I might revisit it once I can afford enough drop pods to make it efficient.
I would stick to the sentence before the word "unit" is even mentioned. As you wrote only Terminators are mentioned there. The German Codex (translated as closely to the wording as possible) says "if Terminators teleport onto the battlefield via deep-striking [...]", then follows the sentence with the units the homer does not work on.
For me that wording clearly allows only Terminators. Though I know how it is written I don't -as I have pointed out earlier- know how it is intended. I see how you can interpret the text the way you do, but as for me, I wouldn't.
I'd be much more open to agreeing with you in case of the Grey Knight squad as their profile wording explicitly states they are teleporting. But as for the Librarian we will just have to settle with our different opinions, I fear, without anyone having hard proof for the correctness of his belief.
I honestly totally see where you're coming from and I'd let you have your way if you played me. But I wouldn't interpret the rule that way for myself without a FAQ backing it up...