Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have just started using a demon hammer and I have a problem. What Chaos Space Marine units counts as demons.
I am an Indestructible master of War.
Everything that says it's a daemon is one. The Eldar codex says the Avatar is a daemon. Codex Chaos Daemons says every unit in that army is a daemon, so they are.
Finally, the DH codex says, in its list of what counts as a daemon, that all Greater Daemons are, surprise, daemons.
Going by strict RAW, Daemon Princes and summoned lesser daemons from the Chaos Marines codex aren't technically daemons.
HOWEVER, that is a particularly difficult position to defend since the units in question are called "daemons", and one must wonder how summoned GREATER daemons would count but not summoned LESSER daemons. It's a jerk move, to say the least, and you shouldn't allow it.
Beyond that, I have never heard of a case where a Chaos Marines player has successfully lobbied to keep their DPs and SLDs not count as daemons in any kind of tournament setting. Every GW event, for example has put the kibosh on such nonsense right quick.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
I played a CSM player with a Daemon Prince (not the summoned ones). He claimed that his DP was actually a mutated space marine rather than an actual daemon as it did not have the Daemon special rule. Technically by RAW, he has justification in his claim so I gave it to him. However, if he had argued that his summoned daemons were not actually daemons, that would have been really pushing it and I would probably not have played him again in the future.