Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So he can remove it bring back that conscripts. What about when the conscripts all die in a turn of close combat? Does the ability still work?
"Hard pounding, gentlemen: but we shall see who can pound the longest."
Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington
The rule states that "...any unit removed from play at the beginning of the players turn may be removed from play and at the start of the players next turn may be deployed as if they had just come in from reserves..."
This would lead me to believe that they have to be removed by the controlling player at the beginning of his turn in order for this special rule to work. If they are destroyed in Combat, then tough luck, they are dead.
The Wolf time is upon us!
Rep for the Rep God! Positive for the Positive Throne!
Armies: Space Wolves, Imperial Guard, Emperors Children, Necrons, Eldar
You can use it they die for any reason. If they're dead, they move from your board edge at the beginning of your next turn. Characters attached to them do not so no undying Lord Commissars sadly.
Check my Blog for Battle Reports, useless ranting and more! Comments appreciated.
Like to talk Warhammer or want some advice on Armies or Tactics? Drop me a PM!
Chenkov's special rule is actually two special rules.
The first is that any conscript squad with the 'send in the next wave' upgrade can be removed from play as casualties at the start of the controlling players turn.
The second is that any conscripts squad with the 'send in the next wave' upgrade, if it has been removed from play, may be brought back into play at the beginning of the player's next turn.
These two special rules are mutually exclusive - that is, one is not required for the other to function.
Essentially, The Prince of Excess has it correct. If those conscripts have been wiped out by a rampaging squad of gretchin (or flamers of Tzeentch, take your pick), they have still been removed from play - they may be brought back on at the start of your next turn.
Or you can remove them from play yourself, and wait a full turn for their identical replacements to arrive.
Also of note: The 'remove them from play' part is almost as valuable a trick as the 'bring them back on' one, in certain circumstances. Bunch of khorne beserkers just smashed into your conscripts in front of the rest of your army? Just remove the conscripts from play. No combat happened, so your opponent doesn't get to consolidate the bunched up red ragers, and thus you can go to town with your ap1,2 or 3 templates!
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
This ability has gotten a fair amount of criticism, yet is exceptional for claiming a home base objective, albeit not cheap. It's comparable to the squad of 6 termagants with "without number" only without synapse restrictions with regards to contesting or claiming objective.
I think id feel dirty using it for that purpose though.