Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm new to 40k and I was wondering how Artillery Strikes worked.
You need an artillery piece on the table already right? And then a command unit to spot for a strike. But it lands the TURN after?
What the point of an Artillery Strike when your own Artillery can fire by itself? In what situations is this order best used?
If you're talking about the master of ordinance, its just just like any other ordinance weapon, nothing overly special about it, other then its innacurate bombardment.
You don't need one on the table already. (He's calling in artillery strikes from miles back)
And a command unit to spot for it? You can only include a master of ordinance (who allows the strike) with a command squad, so yes, in a fashion.
Landing the turn after? No. It's immediate. not accurate (read the Master of ordinance entry r.e. the strike), but immediate.
Or, are you talking about a marine commanders orbital bombardment?
arty piece required? no he's got a spaceship shooting down.
Command squad to spot? no, it's him.
turn after? no, immediate. scatters, but immediate.
Is that what you were asking about?
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
From Imperial Armour update 1.1
An artillery strike will always use the Reserves special rules
even in missions where reserves are not allowed. Once the
artillery strike is available, it lands in each Shooting phase of
the Imperial Guard player’s turn thereafter. The Imperial
Guard player may opt not to roll for the availability of the
artillery strike if he wishes, but once the roll has passed and
the forward observer or officer has selected the target, the
artillery strike will continue.
The blast marker for the artillery strike can be placed
anywhere visible to the forward observer that is calling in the
fire. This can be any model equipped with a vox-caster. The
target can be an enemy model or just a point on the tabletop.
An artillery strike scatters just like an ordnance weapon,
but if a miss is rolled, the distance scattered is double
the score on 2D6. If a hit is rolled, the template deviates
by the distance shown on the dice in the direction
indicated by the arrow on the 'Hit' symbol.
All artillery strikes cause Pinning tests as for the
standard rules for the weapon type fired.
In games of Apocalypse, only one artillery strike may be
taken per 1000 points in the force.
Pts Str AP Type
Bombard Strike 100 8 3 Ordnance, 7” blast
Manticore Strike 90 9 2 Ordnance, 5” blast
Basilisk Strike 70 9 3 Ordnance, 5” blast
Griffon Strike 50 6 4 Ordnance, 5” blast
Mortar Battery Strike 50 4 6 Heavy 3, small blast
Colossus Strike 60 6 3 Ordnance 1/ 5" blast*
Medusa Strike 60 9 3 Ordnance 1/ 5" blast
*No cover saves may be taken against hits from a colossus
About the spotting thing, in the rules for Command Salamander it stated it was a command unit and thus could spot for artillery strikes.
This doesn't sound like you need a model at all. The thing that's coming in from reserves is the strike itself, not a model launching a strike.
1) Just choose which kind of vehicle is launching the strike. Pay the points and start your game.
2) If you successfully roll for reserves, place the applicable template and roll for inaccurate scatter.
3) Count the bodies.