Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am thinking of Fielding a unit of 5 scouts, 3x scouts with Sniper Rifles, 1x with Heavy Bolter, and Sargent Telion. Now the question is for the 135 points do they all get a +1 to their cover save. As I read it the 'unit' gets stealth. Help me out!
It's a big controversary and both rulings have a lot of support by different players.
I, for one, read it unit-wise too.
Sergeant Telion is bought as an upgrade for the squad. This upgrade comes with the stealth special rule. The main rulebook reads that a unit (not model) with the stealth special rule benefits from an improved cover save.
There you go...
(Of course you COULD play that only Telion gets the improved cover save. Its entirely possible. And his entry doesn't explicitly state that the whole unit gets stealth. But the main rulebook does explicitly state that a unit with the stealth special rule gets the improved cover save, not a model. And since Telion is not an IC but an upgrade option for the squad I come to the ruling I have explained above.)
It's pretty ambiguous, so it depends on how convincing you are to your opponent really!
Personally I just pony up X points per scout to get them camo cloaks so it's not a problem.
Actually the question is does the Stealth USR pass from unit to character, or vice versa? As there are some that are specifically listed as such...
I read it as the whole unit gets it. The rule states the unit gets stealth. I point to the word unit so I am not sure. GW should offer clarification on this rule. In a league what would you do? The problem is IF I buy the upgrade it's 12 points as he cannot buy it. That leaves me with 3 points I can never spend since the new codex is all about 5's and 0's
The other way of looking at it however is that the whole unit doesn't have stealth, only Telion. If only one model has the special rule and the majority do not, how can the unit be said to have stealth?
Yeah, well, it comes down to a matter of opinion until this issue is FAQed, because neither side can really come up with some argument that really settles the matter for good with the rules currently being the way they are...
And the stealth special rule reads "[...]the unit's cover save is improved by +1" (main rulebook, page 76). There seems to be no intention for having individual models that are not a unit for themselves (like independent characters) with the stealth special rule without the rest of the squad having it too.
So the upgrade called Telion must effectively upgrade the scout unit which it is bought for, because stealth is only intended for entire units.
This could very well be an oversight in the RAW, though, and as I said: we can argue back and forth (I fear the arguments won't change much but be repeated over and over again) and until this is FAQed I will just have to sort it out with my opponent before the game.
If he insists that only Telion gets the improved cover save, well... that hopefully won't keep me from having a fun game!
There is a similar example in the Imperial Guard Codex, under the Veteran Squad entry.
Sgt. Harker can be bought for a unit of Veterans for xx points. He has several special rules (Relentless, Stealth, etc.) but it explicitly says that some (Relentless) do not get conferred to the squad. Everything else does.
I am in the camp that says Telion does give his squad Stealth. Mostly because it doesn't explicitly say he doesn't.
I'm a constant user of Sgt. Telion, in my friendly games. I guess I never really looked at it that hard, to see if the rule confers across the whole squad.
I have always paid the costs for the camo cloaks for the rest of the squad, and figured Telion had Stealth since I was unable to upgrade him with a camo cloak.
I understand the controversy, however, I'd like to see how some of the local tournaments rule on this? Does anyone have any experiences, where Telion has been taken and the rest did not take camo cloaks, and the unit was allowed to receive the better cover save?
Also, conferring Stealth to the rest of the squad, make his high cost, slightly more tolerable.
I dont really think of myself as a supporter of either side, but I've always believed it to save Telion himself only, and that he had the rule simply because he'd otherwise be the only one without it in a cloaked squad..
Arguments that'd suggest I'm wrong could include that they could just have given him a camocloak among his wargear.. Yeah well..
If he does indeed give his entire squad stealth I think he's a much better option than I've considered him untill now as it decreases his effective cost in a sniper squad considerably.. I guess I'd start using him if this were the case, but I know I'd feel like cheating my opponent if I tried to argue that he'd confer the stealth.. On the same time I wouldn't mind my opponent using it.. lol.. Would really just wish that GW were faster at answering/updating FAQs (and I'm sure we all would)..