Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know that statistically it isn't good if you take the death strike, but what happens if you manage to launch it off to spectacular effect? Anybody used it before and got the unexpected success?
I have had one used agaainst me. It fired on turn 2 and hit 4 plague marines. Almost made its points back.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
The problem with it is exactly that : if it do get to fire then most of the time the enemy forces will have spread enough to mitigate it's potential, you will be happy if you can make it's point back. It might be more useful in Apoc tho, in big battles where there is so much troopers running around they can't space the squads much, then maybe you could reap the jackpot.
Other than that save firing it at "Doomsday Units" i don't see a way it could even potentially come out ahead....
It really isn't even capable of spectacular results from what I've seen, unless someone isn't familiar with spreading out against templates.
Probably the most poorly designed entry in the IG Codex. It's supposed to be able to nuke a continent and in reality it might kill 4 models. Wooooh.
I'll tell you now, i hate the DSM with a strong passion
When it was last used against me it landed right amongst my necron force, taking out 3 16 man squads of warriors, and two lords. Ok granted so he was lucky to have it launch first time, didnt scatter, and rolled for the maximum blast radius, but he ALWAYS rolls this result
I'd check on his dice than because that's pretty damn lucky. Also....spread out. I don't see how it's killing that many models with regularity.
He's a good friend of mine, and always uses my dice, so I know its not anything dodgy, also he uses a arty list, he has a couple of mortar teams, a basalisk and the DSM (if he's feeling nasty), so i always stretch my squads out to the max in term of unit coherency.
EDIT: Just reading the rules for the DSM, when it launches how do you work out the blast radius? It it just D3+3" from the point of impact, or is it the big blast template and then D3+3" on top of that?
Last edited by V3xx; October 8th, 2009 at 23:51.
It is D3+3" from center of impact. This is the radius, so the total width of the blast would be for an example: You rolled a 2 in your D3. 2+3 = 5. This is the blast radius from the center of the imaginary hole. 10 is now the width or diameter. Haven't seen anything about adding on to a blast template.
Last edited by Imperator100; October 9th, 2009 at 10:10.
Ahh i did think it abit weird, i'll have to tell him this next time i play this list of his. He was under the impression you add its onto a big blast template, which was how he was taking out so much stuff