Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, recently GW released an FAQ for the Imperial Guard that said the hellstrike missle does not use a large blast... instead it was just Ordinance 1...
SO, today I was looking through the current SM codex and noticed that every single ordinance weapon (demolisher, whirlwind, and Orbital bombardment) only says... "Ordinance 1". Some weapons had Heavy 1 Large Blast... but when it said ordinance it made no mention of using a blast marker. For example, the demolisher cannon only said Ordinance 1,barrage. NOW, looking through the chaos space marine codex the demolisher cannon listing says "Ordinance 1, Large Blast" - Same with the IG
So, am I missing something? Why does the IG hellstrike missle not use a large blast marker? Does the SM demolisher cannon fire a large Blast marker? Is the Space Marine book just different in that when it says ordinance it just means the 5inch marker?
I have to be missing something. Please explain - how do you know when something is a NON-Blast Ordinance?
I always assumed that all ordnance weapons used large blast markers.
Now that I look at it, it doesn't actually say which one to use. Odd.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
Chaos is still 4th edition, in 5th edition (which the current SM and IG codizes are) every ordnance weapon is automatically a large blast unless otherwise mentioned. This "rule" is mentioned in the core rulebook (at the vehicles shooting section):
"[...]Unless their profile specifies otherwise, all ordnance blast weapons use the large blast marker[...]
For the hellstrike missiles they maybe forgot to mention that it is NOT a blast marker, so they FAQd it.
Demolisher, Whirlwind etc are still firing the large blast markers. I was a little confused too and don't understand why they choose to forgo the wording in the table.
Overall I'm not too happy about GWS codizes ... they are not good writers/authors. The fact alone that they decided to split descriptions and point values between wargear and lots of pictures is just plain dumb. I really hate it to flip between ...
the hellstrikes aren't blast in the first place, thus there's no reason to assume they'd use the large blast template.
They did make a typo in the marine codex however, but this's been fixed in the FAQ.
The demolisher fires a large template, and is NOT a barrage.
For the whirlwind and orbital bombardment it's a "barrage" thus a blast weapon and therefore fires the large template aswell.
Edit to answer the questions clearly:
The demolisher fires a large blast, yes.
They made a mistake in the marine codex, which is most likely the cause of your confusion, look up the FAQ.
When a weapon is listed as ordnance, but is neither barrage nor blast, then it is a non-blast ordnance.
Last edited by LastDinosaur; October 11th, 2009 at 09:58.
Ah hehe, right. I was already a little confused about the "blast" wording in that sentence