Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys, first post!
I have a marine army and was thinking of allying some GK and just had a couple of questions.
A) If I had a Raven Guard army, would Shrike's "fleet" rule work on them too? Or not because they're not Raven Guard?
If I used different models to represent GK, but converted them so they had nemesis weapons and stormbolters, so essentially just different bodies more fitting with my RG, would that generally be considered legal?
The don't get fleet because they lack Combat Tactics, so they can't swap that for Fleet.
As long as the models have the right weapons and wargear it's usually considered WYSIWYG, aka legal. Make sure they're on the right bases too.
Check my Blog for Battle Reports, useless ranting and more! Comments appreciated.
Like to talk Warhammer or want some advice on Armies or Tactics? Drop me a PM!
The Prince is correct on both accounts. Shrike's Chapter Tactics are reserved only for units taken from Codex: Space Marines who have the Combat Tactics special rule. However, his other special rule can still impact the Grey Knights; you can choose to infiltrate the Grey Knights along with Shrike for a nasty little surprise!
Modelwise, as long as your models represent the weapons and units adequately, you can pretty much use a conversion for anything in the game, so I would feel free to convert and make your squad of Grey Knights more in line with your Raven Guard.
However... I personally find the Grey Knight models to be exquisite, so you can't really go wrong with those either!
So you can just include a squad of GKs in a SM army? Are there any catches/special rules that apply?
Heavy support cannot be taken from WH/DH, and you cannot take any of the inducted unit choices.
The WH/DH in-codex requirements still apply (no assassin without inquisitor, no arcos without a priest who in turn has to be attached to a valid unit).
You can include up to 2 squads of GKT and 3 squads of PAGK in an SM army (though one of the PAGK squads will be a non-scoring fast attack option)
Last edited by A.T.; October 25th, 2009 at 14:07. Reason: corrected assassin line
I thought you could take an assassin with inquisitor lord?
I wish taking a Lord + Assassin was more competitiv, even if only by a litte. I love my Marines, but I also love the assassins, especially the fluff behind them. I have a Vindicare assassin on my shelf (the model taking aim with his exetus rifle) and a half painted inquisitor, but have never used either. Being steamrolled in a game just so I can use a model I love is not my idea of fun