Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
with the new codex in hand ive noticed that my basilisks now got alot worse right?
is there ALWAYS the minimum 36range of it or can you shot directly as of last one for closer targets ??
tnx in advance
Well even though in the codex entry it says they can direct fire the gun profile seems to say otherwise. But do not despair! the simple way round it is to use the forgeworld rules which allow you to fire directly and indirectly for the SAME points. The only downside is that you can only take one as a heavy support choice.
Just be careful though i maybe wrong but most players i know just use the current rules and fire directly anyway- nobody seems to mind.
okey ill see what my opponents say tmr but if i could get a more accurate answear that would be nice
The minimum range always applies. If you fire with LoS you get to minus the scatter by your BS, but the open-topped and bad armor will probably see it wrecked.
Basilisks only work when set up in a corner, firing to the other side of the table. This is very easy to avoid for a non-static army, so yes Basilisks suck.
Check my Blog for Battle Reports, useless ranting and more! Comments appreciated.
Like to talk Warhammer or want some advice on Armies or Tactics? Drop me a PM!
You can't use Forge World rules in a tournament... end of discussion. Unless you play lots of Apocalypse, yes, Basilisks kind of suck now.
I direct your attention to page 32 BRB: "Some barrage weapons have a minimum range as well as a maximum range... If the center of the marker is placed by the firer within the minimum range (before rolling scatter) the shot misses automatically and is removed".
Further down the same page: "Barrage weapons can fire at a target they cannot see, but if they do this, the BS of the firer makes no difference and the blast scatters a full 2d6" if an arrow is rolled on the scatter dice".
Firing directly means that if you have line of sight to your target you get to subtract the BS3 from the scatter roll, but you are still bound by that 36" minimum range. The other artillery options are better.
"The man in the bowler hat is Mr. Average in his anonymity. I, too, wear one; I have no great desire to stand out from the masses." - Rene Magritte
Wow. I never realized that basilisks now have a minimum range for DIRECT FIRE. Wow. That's it, I'm turning my bassy into a colossus.
yeaaa also thinking about makeing them to griffons or colossus's would be quite awesome but not quite sure of how to do the colossus cannon any ideas?
anyways tnx for the quick responses
As far as i understand it the rules for ordnance barrage weapons says that you can choose to fire in two ways:
If you choose to fire directly at a target you treat the shot as a normal ordnance shot, ignoring the minimum range in the weapon's profile (page 58 of the 5th ed. rulebook).
If you choose to fire as a barrage then you can have two situations: 1)your target is within los, so you get to subtract your bs from the scatter dice result 2)your target is out los loss so you don't get to subtract your bs from the scatter dice result.
So, unless i'm totally wrong, a basilisk can fire directly at a target without worrying for its minimum range.
Last edited by IGmaniac; October 25th, 2009 at 12:25.
This is correct- the Basilisk can fire both directly and indirectly.
Read the 'Ordinance Barrage' section on page 58- it says that Ord. Barrage weapons be fired directly or indirectly. If directly, then ignore the minimum range and fire it like a standard Ord. weapon. Because the Basilisk does not have a little footnote next to it saying that it can only fire indirectly (Like the Griffon and Collossus have) then it can fire either way.
Space Marines: W15/L7/D3
Imperial Guard: W6/L4/D0