Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So the SW codex states that if a psychic power goes off within 24" of the bearer he can dispell/ get rid of it on a 4+. But what if there are 2 Rune priests within the enemy psyker? Would I get 2 chances? The codex is unfortunatley not clear on this...
I figured yes because it's not re-rolling a re-roll or anything like that. It's one failing and another trying.
On tha tnote though what if both fail and the squad, in this case being lashed, has a wolf tail talisman would I then get 3 chances? Sorry but like I said it's unclear on the issue.
I think so; it's not something I've ever come across but I think if you have 2 Psychic Hoods in a list you can use one if the other fails, so I don't see why Runic Weapons would be any different. The Wolf Tail Talisman is the same as the Sister's psyker save or the DH Unguents Of Warding. It's just a saving throw, which means if someone tries to Doom your Wolf-Tailed Rune Priest he can use the Runic weapon to try and dispel it, and if that fails he can take the WTT save. I'd think if there's another Rune Priest within 24" he can try his Runic Weapon too regardless of Wolf Tails or Runic Armour, but I'm not really sure.
Interestingly Psychic hoods and runic weapons work differently here. In the space marine codex it specifically states only one hood per power but runic weapons don't have that restriction. Oh well, go for it.
Brute force ALWAYS works, its just a question of having enough of it!
The DH and WH Codex psychic hoods don't have that restriction... then again they don;t have a range limitation either.
Easy answer, take a Rune Priest, a DH/WH character with a psychic hood as an Ally, and lots of Wolf-Tail Talismans. Uber psyker protection; try the Hood, if that fails try the Weapon, if that fails use the 5+ save
Take advantage of that now while you still can. I have a feeling GW will FAQ that to just 1 like SM hoods. Another reason to run multi-cheese RP's in a wolf army...I swear the future tourneys are gonna be filled with them.
Simple enough, don't understand why this is a question. If you have two Rune Priests within 24 inches of a cast psychic power, you roll for each Runic Weapon.Originally Posted by The Codex Runic Weapon Entry
-edit- Note the specific wording of "a bearer, as opposed to "the bearer". I wouldn't keep your hopes up about it getting FAQnerfed, if you stack psychic power against Space Wolves you're gonna get rolled.Well, when 75% of most local tournament scenes revolve around dual DP and Seer Council lists, I fail to see why you would ever not bring 2 RP or Njal if you had the option. I've seen some cheese in my day, and I don't think Rune Priests quite qualify. If anything, they're a necessary part of a SW list that expects to have a chance, not "cheese". Trying to make a competitive SW list without Rune Priests is like trying to eat ice cream with chopsticks: you can try, but as soon as things heat up everything is gonna go to hell.Another reason to run multi-cheese RP's in a wolf army
It doesn't help when you only get two points-efficient non-special HQ's in the codex and the RP is by far the more useful of the two. Don't hate the player hate the game.
Last edited by Bathurst; October 30th, 2009 at 02:11.
I think the only real reason us SW players are considered "cheese" with RP's is because of Jaws of the world wolf. And when you throw 2 the chance of failure goes up. But with most things being Initiative 4 these days orks and nurgle daemons are the only things that should be afraid and have to right to call "cheese".
I actually used dual jaws in a tournament and everybody said it was illegal because of the the whole leader of the pack rule. But I proved them wrong, as it states they can't be "look alikes" but can have similar weaponry like they can both have bolt pistols for example. I paraphrase of course.
I hear ya though, I've just been so used to playing nilla marines, and old wolves for so long I'm only used to one roll. Even if there are multiple on the table.
Not to mention the fact that RP's are only I4. Not so scary when they don't hit first now are they.But with most things being Initiative 4 these days orks and nurgle daemons are the only things that should be afraid and have to right to call "cheese".
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
I'd say Necrons too have a pretty good cause for crying "Cheese" against JotWW as well. All their troops and a fair number of their units are only I2/3.
I would have to agree with the above though, that you get a chance to cancel the power for every RP in range of the guy trying to cast it. Yes you could theoretically get 4 chances to do so, one of which is at a 3+, but SW don't seem like they particularly like enemy psykers all that much.