Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okies all you thorough rules readers out there. Got two posers for you.
1. Can a Librarian use GoI and prevent scatter with the use of Locator Beacons?
My reading of the rules leads me to believe it isn't 100% clear.
2. Can a unit move upto the position of a Librarian so he joins the unit then be Gated with him? Extreme example is a niker unit boosting 24" to a librarian then getting gated a further 24".
That would be quite an advantage, even broken if possible but my quick flip through the codex and rules yesterday didn't reveal an answer that was clear.
Thanks for your time chaps.
Unsure about the Locator beacon, but I'd venture a no on that.
As for the turboboost, the thing you need to consider is, can a unit achieve unit coherency with the Librarian after a turbo-boost, as it's the "Librarian and any unit that has joined him." Therefore if you can get them in coherency, then yes you could teleport them.
1. Gate of Infinity removes the librarian (and any unit he has joined) from the table and redeploys him (and any unit he has joined) via deep-strike [Codex: Space Marines, page 57]. A locator beacon stops the scattering of any friendly units that attempt to come onto the table via deep-strike within 6" of the beacon [Codex: Space Marines, page 67].
A: You can use the locator beacon to lock on with Gate of Infinity and not scatter.
2. Gate of Infinity must be used at the beginning of the librarians movement phase [Codex: Space Marines, page 57], that means he may not have moved that turn. A unit counts as moved in the turn it is joined by an independent character [big rulebook, page 48].
A: You can not use the Gate of Infinity in a turn the librarian joined a unit.
sorry to add on to your post but its about the lib too
If you use GoI can you then use Vortex of doom ???
Im guessing if his in termi arm then yes but otherwise no?
Tau: 6K - W17-D3-L4, Orks: 4K - W9-D0-L2, SM: 7K - W7-D3-L4,CSM: 4K W5-D1-L1, Nids: 3.2K W3-D0-L2
Apoc games (mixture of armies used): W5-D0-L1
Re: the first question I was unsure how precise we had to read the rule on Locator beacons as it does state the beacons work on units "wishing to arrive on the battlefield". Technically the Libby is already on the battlefield. Maybe I'm just over reading the rule. If so then what you have stated will make for exciting games ahead.
Re: second question. That is what I thought and hoped but just wanted to check.
@ And Justice For All:
The Gate of Infinity power states that the librarian and any unit he joined are removed from the battlefield. So he actually is very much "wishing to arrive on the battle-field", even though he was there already on a previous turn.
Using locator beacons to hop around the board using a GoI Librarian and a squad of Sternguard, for example, is a valid and useful tactic.
As far as the second question goes I'm in complete agreement that you cannot do that.
"Into the fires of battle, unto the anvil of war!"
-This space for rent-
Salamander project log
To the first question I'd say yes, a locator beacon does prevent scattering of Gated models.. I've myself been using this a couple of times indeed.. It is pretty obviously RAW'ish, and can be justified fluffish by keeping in mind that locators help terminators moving through the warp aswell..
As for the second question things get a bit messy..
Are we to read the first dot-paragraph only on the page that deals with the rules for characters joining units ( page 48 ) we see that a character always joins another unit at the end of -his- move.. This would mean that the answer must obviously be a strict no, as Gate is used at the start of the librarians move.
I find the whole section is rather poorly written though..
In the 'gone to ground' paragraph it is as the only place suggested that units can join characters aswell.. If this is indeed true.. Then the bikers should be able to join the librarian in their move and then he could actually warp them..
Unless of course he is bound by the same rules as units are when joined by characters (may move no further after the character has joined).. However even if he's not allowed to move Gate of Infinity could still be used at the start of his Movement Phase?
Problem is they seem to differentiate between the Librarians movement phase and the players movement phase.. Which of course both must be the same.. So the Gating must always be done before other models are moved.. So the answer should be no.. And this is the conclusion from several independent argumentaations now =)
Another bizarre case on page 48 is this one:
"If the character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining
If the character does not intende to (or cannot) join a unit, it must remain more than 2" away from it at the end of its Movement phase"
The second part makes the first one redundant.. Why GW.. why?!
//back on track
@Rafici: your guess is correct although he can also cast it if equipped with a bike.. It's a heavy 'weapon' and moving in from deep-strike always counts as moving.. Thus for heavy weapons to be fired he'd have to be relentless (which is obtainable from both bikes and termi-armor)
Edit: okay.. I'm a slow poster.. There's been 4 other posts since I started mine.. ~_~
Last edited by LastDinosaur; November 4th, 2009 at 17:31. Reason: spelling and annoyedness for being slow