Vulkan and command squads - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member Draake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Vulkan and command squads

    You probably guessed what I am going to ask from the title: can Vulkan take a command squad?

    The codex is quite ambiguous in this matter, depending on your interpretation of the evidence I will present.

    In the army list, on page 132, it states that: 'You may take one command squad for each Space Marine captain in your army" then goes on to state that this includes some of the special characters, but Vulkan is not mentioned.

    However, it does not state that he cannot take a command squad.

    Furthermore, on page 93, under Vulkan's entry it states that "....it is a burden borne by Captain He'stan."

    My conclusion: Yes, but open to interpretation. Most non-SM players will have no clue, allowing you to take it.

    Key points in bold, what are your thoughts?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    My backpack has JETS! Ravendove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,983
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    545 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Draake View Post
    However, it does not state that he cannot take a command squad.
    It doesn't state that he can't be mounted on a Jetbike either. I don't think this alone is justification for taking a command squad. If he's not mentioned in the list of characters who can, then I would assume that he indeed cannot.

  4. #3
    Egg Head Miniatures:fbook And Justice For All's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    963 (x8)

    I thought I would disagree with Ravendove but I concur. The writers mention he is a captain but in the HQ Squad listing it states clearly who can take one. Perhaps they haven't included him as he is working in quite a different capacity. He no longer captains a company and HQ squads form part of those.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Draake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by And Justice For All View Post
    He no longer captains a company and HQ squads form part of those.
    I didn't see it like this, you are completely right.

  6. #5
    Member dude5767's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    25 (x1)

    Is it because he is a chapter master? The chapter master honor guard squad doesnt mention him but then again it doesnt mention anyone. Not even calgar, and he is definitely a chapter master.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Glavas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x2)

    Vulkan is not a captain or a chapter master. He WAS a captain but gave it up when he took up the name Vulkan He'stan.

    He was captain of the 4th company from memory? Marine codex is at a mate's place so I might be wrong.

    Key point, was, meaning no longer is

    Glavas out.


  8. #7
    My backpack has JETS! Ravendove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,983
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    545 (x8)

    Correct. Vulkan cannot take Honour Guard or Command Squads because he is neither a Chapter Master or Captain. He was the Captain of the 4th Company, but left that role to become the Forgefather.

    This is a ceremonial role largely outside the standard organisation, tasked with finding and collecting ancient Chapter relics across the galaxy. Consequently, Vulkan does not command any one company of the Salamanders, but may call on any members of the Chapter to assist him in his task.

    The current Chapter Master of the Salamanders is called Tu`Shan.
    The current Captain of the 4th Company is called Doc'tyr.

    Thank you.

  9. #8
    DROP PODS!! jonojoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Otago
    Age
    27
    Posts
    690
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    221 (x4)

    you could always take another captain and get Vulkan to join that command squad,
    My ToP - raven gaurd <- cliky
    Raven Guard W/13 D/7 L/5

  10. #9
    Senior Member Draake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Yep you could. However I probably wouldn't consider it in games under 2000 pts.

  11. #10
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Rule of thumb, as I've said time and again: fluff rarely equals rules. In cases like this, unless it's explicitly stated, you should assume the answer is going to be 'no,' regardless of the fluff.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts