Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im sure this has been covered a 100 times already but i couldnt find the thread so im asking it. What part of the vehicle is capable of being shot at: the hull, cockpit, wings, and tail? And if there is a faq out there that covers this, a link would be nice? Thanks
If you can see any part of it you can shoot at it, if you can only see 1/3 of it or less then it will get a cover save(very unlikely)
The official answer is the hull. However, I would include the wings too due to the fact yu have weapons systems mounted on them. Tail, probably not.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
Would the same apply to blast weapons? :/
Im just wondering, I know to be in CC with a skimmer you have to be in contact with the model or the base. But I was playing against a tyranid player and he argued that since its possible to lower the valkyrie model all he has to do is be under where the nose would be touching the ground and he can be in CC with it.
How does this work? Or do the Tyranids have some special rule that allow them to leap up and CC a skimmer?
Tyranid players are cheaters. Not that I blame them, I rip through them with Guard all of the time. They just suck in 5th edition. Cheating is the only way for Tyranids to win anymore.
I am sort of joking, Tyranid players. Don't write me hate mail. I anxiously await the day when I fear the Tyranids like I once did. And that, is NO joke. These 5th edition rules and the way the Tyranids are effected effects me too. I made my army to be the sworn enemies of the Tyranids fluff-wise and its too lopsided. It always comes down to basically a Hive Tyrant versus was mass of infantry.
And I completely failed to answer the skimmer question. I am a professional, that's my job.
How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.
Since the Valkyrie is so high its almost impossible for anything to actually contact the model so do they have to touch the base? I assume that the tryanids cant jump...
Well, the FAQ states that disembarking/embarking from a Valkyrie or Vendetta is measured from the base rather than the hull.
I figure that the same analogue for assaulting applies. Models in contact with the base can attack the Valk/Vend in CC.
The issue then comes to shooting as well, do you measure to the hull or the base for range. Measuring to the hull would give a distinct disadvantage to many anti-tank guns such as melta and fusion guns.
You have to measure to the hull because you have to have LOS to it. It would be strange to draw LOS to the hull then fire at the base. And it doesnt really give anti tank guns much of an advantage since it also has to fire vertically which is a bit further.