Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
After reading over previous topics about shooting at valkyries and assaulting them I started to think about how they fire back. The rule hull mounted weapons moving vertically came to mind.
On page 59 of the rulebook it states hull mounted weapons can aim vertically 45 degrees even if the actual weapon is not capable of doing that on the model. This would be to prevent a tank right next to a building shooting straight up at people on the roof. But since the Vendetta and Valkyrie are so high up they actually cant hit models around where the nose of the plane starts, for the wing mounted weapons. Also, they cannot fire low enough for the nose mounted weapon even a few inches infront of the model.
No one has ever brought this up to me but Im wondering, have any of you ever been told you couldn't fire your Valk/Vendetta if the enemy was too close like that?
I assume some people would like to think since the model is a skimmer it can just face down and fire but nothing in the rules seems to say it is allowed to fire like that. Just wanted to know if this has been mentioned before and what you think about it.
The lascannons are not hull mounted.
I WANNA GET STUCK IN WIT DA BOYZ
The one on the nose certainly is. I would also argue the wing ones are. Even if you don't count the wings as hull, they are obviously fixed weapons that cannot rotate. A fixed weapon has a 45 degree horizontal and vertical arc of fire.
The 4 types of weapons on vehicles in the rulebook, are:
Turret - 360 arc
Hull - 45 arc
Sponson - as far as they can rotate
Pintle - 360 arc on the turret, 45 degree arc on the hull
Lascannons are not turrets, pintle-mounted, or sponsons.
I suppose i'm being quite difficult there.
That aside, if, and only if they are hull mounted (they do appear to be so. To be fair, where does it say read the top of the dice? it's quite obvious.)
Is it that much of a problem? They have fairly meaty bases, and are normally angled pointing nose slightly down (see base and connector - you can have them angled up, but it doesn't look right) and there's very little you can't bring to bear in front of you. However, in what circumstance can you shoot a valk/vend and not move it? at least the 6 inches required to shoot in front (at the very most)? none. I can't see it being a problem.
Aren't you supposed to be able to see a part of the torso, (hint, 28mm above the base) to be able to shoot at it? not the 2mm base? won't the lascannons see that, even with 45 degrees?
wow. i'm gonna appear like a troll to some readers.
No, you're not trolling, you've pointed out some things I didnt think of. Any vehicle would be tall enough that you would probably be able to hit it even if it was right under the nose.
I'm not saying it would be a big problem. Infact, the only time I can think it would be a problem is, say if it was imobilized and something was under it, assaulting it.
The main reason for my post was because I can't seeing most players even noticing this or calling anyone on it and I was wondering if people think in those rare instances it should matter that "technically" it wouldnt be able to hit small models right against its base.
**Edit: That also kind of makes me wish you could claim to be hitting the top armor of vehicles since at some points it would actually be the largest target on a vehicle for the vendetta. Oh well.
Top armour used to be rear, unless it was a demolisher, where you used side armour. i think it's in the city of death rules somewhere.
"...But the rest of the cows and market analysts call them mad. Well, twenty-three zillion bacteria said the same thing a hundred million years ago. And guess where they are today? They're still bacteria!" (c)
Top armor is now represented by side armor on all vehicles. I know it can't actually hit the top armor even though its elevation would suggest so. Only Barrage weapons can hit top armor. I just thought it would be neat if it could.
But still, if for some strange reason there were small models assaulting it at the base and you didn't want to move it... technically it cannot shoot them.