Drop pod model questions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    650
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x3)

    Drop pod model questions

    I have a couple of question regarding the drop pod model

    1) Can you measure from anywhere on any ramp for deploying your models within 1" or must it be 1" from the hull?

    These others most likely will be answered by #1 but

    2) if the pod explodes, is the d6" explosion measured from the hull or the ramp? (rules, not fluff sense plz)

    3) must opponents stay more than 1" from any part of the ramp when moving, or just the hull?

    The model is what the model is. So according to what I can find, the ramps are part of the model and thus disembarking, opponents movement, and explosion would be measured from any part.

    I am participating in a local tournament, so I would ask for references in your replies. Thank you for your answers!

    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Chirality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x4)

    I believe in all cases it's measured from the hull. Look on page 67 of the BRB and you will see that you measure 2" from the hull, not the deployed doors. The access point does not change, as in it is still measured from the same place.
    Last edited by Chirality; January 3rd, 2010 at 04:31.
    "Into the fires of battle, unto the anvil of war!"
    -This space for rent-
    Salamander project log

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Torden View Post

    I am participating in a local tournament, so I would ask for references in your replies. Thank you for your answers!
    I would say from the hull, would you gain an extra two inches if you lowered the rhino hatch to disembark, I say no.
    However, no matter what we say, you may want to cehck withthe supervisors of your tournament to avoid any conflict.

    And good luck!

    this kid evan

  5. #4
    Son of LO kevin vanrooyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,884
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    452 (x8)

    1) You disembark within 2" of access points the access points of a drop pod are the ramp openings, not the ramps themselves.

    2) The explosion is measured from the hull.

    3) You must stay 1" away from the vehicles hull.

    The Emperor Protects
    IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
    Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11

  6. #5
    Egg Head Miniatures:fbook And Justice For All's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    963 (x8)

    This has been debated at length by those who read the rules and those seeking to twist them. Thankfully, every one here has said it as it is. From the hull in all occasions. The only time you measure anything from a vehicle, not from its hull, is weaponry.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    This discussion was settled at our club by giving the analogy of the Rhino/Razorback back ramp. When the Rhino explodes it's from the vehicle itself, the doors wouldn't count. So in the case of a drop pod it would be the same.
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts