Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I bet this has been asked before but the searches I use keep coming up with errors.
Anyway, just a quick Q regarding Celestine and Seraphim. If she joins the squad does she still negate the Hit & Run rule despite having it herself? I'm guessing that going by RAW it does, even if it doesn't make any sense to do so.
No, if St. Celestine joins a unit of seraphim they all still have the hit and run rule. You would only lose the ability if one or the other was without the special rule.
(WH40K) Dark Eldar - (12,000pts) Sisters of Battle - (5000pts) Dark Angels -(3500pts) (WHFB) Dark Elves - (10,000pts) Beastmen - (5000pts) Empire - (3000pts) Wood Elves - (1500pts)
Kabbala is correct. St. Selestine has Hit-n-run (which even refers you to hit-n-run listed in the Seraphim entry) and the Seraphim obviously have the rule spelled out in their entry. Since both of them have hit-n-run, they can both use it when Celestine joins the unit.
Celestine does lose her special assault phase movement when attached to Seraphim.
This is also noted in the FAQ. Seraphim and Celestine have their own version of hit and run and do not require an initiative check unless the two units have the same rule (aka if two squads of seras were fighting or something). As farmpunk said, she does loose her free movement when attached.
40k: Silver Angels of Our Martyred Lady 7/2/3 - Daemons of the Great Squiggle! 3/1/0
Fantasy: Windhost of Athel'Loren 2/0/0 - Daemons of Another Great Squiggle! 0/0/0
Warmahordes: Legion of Everblight (Absylonia)
So just to clarify what has been said, it's taken that because she 'makes use of the Hit & Run rule described in the Seraphim army list entry' that she can avoid the rule that, 'A seraphim squad joined by an Adeptus Soratias Heroine with a jump pack does not benefit from this rule.'
They never really say it does, so I'm hoping that it doesn't cause too many arguments if I decide to take her instead of a jumping canoness in high point matches.
Celestine is in a seperate category, and technically she doesn't have a jump pack either.
She is capable, but vulnerable to getting instakilled and blowing more faith points
Yeah, she can be vulnerable but that's part of taking her with a squad. As long as she's not in CC alone with someone that can instakill her, there are others around her that can take the wounds first. You just gotta play it carefully.
Too bad about her faithful rule. Along with being a bit expensive it really puts her out of being consider most of the time.
Last edited by Oiad; January 15th, 2010 at 21:31.
She's worth it. I usually dont even run St. Celestine with anyone. I jump her around and hide behind terrain, then strike. Her movement is pretty impressive, and she can usually tangle up with something 2nd turn.
Most Marine players don't expect a WS5 Str5 Master crafted Power weapon coming at them, and don't realize what's happened until she's killing off their Devastators, or decapitating their librarian. then she hit-n-runs so you can soften up the squad with shooting again. plus, she's got the same faith tricks the jumpy cannoness does, of popping for a 2/2+.
most people don't expect a fast CC beastie coming from WH, because "everyone knows Sisters suck in CC" they then assume the entire army can't CC.
Anyone else find the points requirement to be added to an army a little annoying
Hate the oldschool rules
I certainly wouldn't mind being able to use her in a smaller point sum army. Particularly when I peruse some of the other Codexes and see what is available to their powerful commanders.
But what we have is what we have until the rules change.
(Why am I suddenly reminded of a Tolkien line ending in "..until the world changes"? )
"The sword that takes life gives life."