Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have Blood Angels and Im wondering if you can use chainswords as power weapons?
No. But if you buy a space wolf command section sprue, it comes with 2 power weapons, and a power fist.
O & G: 5/0/1
thanks do you know what is the cheapest way to get that sprue?
buy the box you can make ten mminis with chinswords to
? You can use whatever you like as power weapons as long as you pay the points cost. Part of the hobby is converting you in no way shape or form have to use the actual power weapon sprues as power weapons
For instance I use a mix of random imposing and dangerous looking weapons as power weapons, from the Hammer of Sigmar (WHF to old edition force axes, etc .. Only thing is you need to atleast tell your opponent what is what and not lie about it and switch weapons
I just paint the blade blue, or part of it
As Kirasu said you CAN use chainswords for power weapons, with two suggestions. First, if any chainswords are powerweapons, then all of the chainswords (that look that way) must also be power weapons. This can be accomplished by complying with the second suggestion; make the power weapons distinguishable to your opponent. There should be no doubt which weapons are power weapons, and all weapons that look that way are power weapons.
As long as all your weapons that look the same are the same you should have no problems, and it is GW tournament legal.
Normally you're not allowed to use chainswords as powerweapons. It should be represented by a sword, mace, halberd or anything suitable (pretty much anything but a chainsword ^_^ - it's true).
This all comes from the WYSIWYG rule (what you see is what you get), and SHOULD be followed by all players (as everything else in the rulebook, it's all down to 'should' or 'must' <_< ).
But of course everyone's free to play as they want - using marines as terminators, necrons as avatars and chainswords as powerweapons. :rolleyes:
I think GW has a very strict policy NOT to allow chainswords to be represented as power weapons.
The only chainsword i use as a 'power' weapon is the chaos chainsword arm which i use as a frostblade (i painted runes onto it).
House Rule: just ask your oppponent if they mind not using WYSIWYG
WYSIWYG (standard tourney rules): You'd have to convert it. Just file off the chain 'teeth' and paint the blade the typical frosted blue, or green, or even yellow.
War Record Since Sept 2005
Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar
Funny, I've never heard that anywhere. Where did you hear this?Normally you're not allowed to use chainswords as powerweapons. It should be represented by a sword, mace, halberd or anything suitable (pretty much anything but a chainsword - it's true).A converted chainsword does follow all WYSIWYG conventions.This all comes from the WYSIWYG rule (what you see is what you get), and SHOULD be followed by all playersNot if they want to have a rules legal army they don't. Among friends it might be acceptable to use different models as stand-ins for things you don't have, but that's the only place.But of course everyone's free to play as they want - using marines as terminators, necrons as avatars and chainswords as powerweapons.
I challenge anyone to find an official ruling or even a resonable statement from a GW official stating anything about NOT being able to use a chainsword model as a power weapon. (and I don't mean your friend who works in a GW store who said he heard... )
It is completely legal, will be accepted in any tournament, and fits ALL the requirements of WYSIWYG. As long as it properly represents a power weapon, meaning there is no confusion that it is a power weapon because it is different from all non-power weapons.
You can do it two ways; all the chainswords in you army are power weapons and no other chainsword is used. For example you can use one chainsword when all other marines are equipped with knives. Or as logan grimmnar pointed outFunny, he said that right after claimingThe only chainsword i use as a 'power' weapon is the chaos chainsword arm which i use as a frostblade (i painted runes onto it).By the way, they don't have any such policy.I think GW has a very strict policy NOT to allow chainswords to be represented as power weapons.
The second way to do it, if you have other chainsword in your units, is to paint or convert it to make the power weapon stand out. Tennis-ball green or whatever you like. Just make it obvious.