Commissars and Sergeants - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member Moschaboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    Commissars and Sergeants

    Ok the following question arose when I read the rules for the commissar:

    assuming I make a huge blob out of an infantry platoon that consists of 5 infantry squads each with power weapon sergeant and power weapon commisar to form a huge 55man strong squad. Now, they loose a combat against something and fail their leadership test. Then the 5 commissars start to shoot people, thats where it gets interesting.

    do the comissars shoot 1 sergeant each? Or is it determined randomly for every commisar which sergeant he shoots?

    The comissar entry states that if there are more models with the same leadership value, you have to randomly choose one.
    in the example above, would you, lets say, roll 5 d6 (each comissar gets one), name the sergeants 1-5, reroll any 6 that occurs and then remove all sergeants that got shot?

    Like you've rolled a 1,2,4 and two 5s and remove all the sergeants but the one you named 3. Do the two commissars shoot sergeant nr. 5 at the same time? how about another failed leadership test, will all the commissars shoot the last remaining sergeant?

    Please tell me how you think this works. Right now I think it works as described but i'm not too shure about it.

    Last edited by Moschaboy; January 23rd, 2010 at 06:53.



  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Each infantry squad operates independently on the table, doesn't it? So you can't lock the entire platoon into combat, as each squad is separate, and you would perform the Commissar's rule each time one of the individual squads failed a leadership test.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Moschaboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    Iwas talking about fusing the squads together to form a huge 55 men squad (blob) I'll edit that more clear because some people might not know what i mean with the term blob.



  5. #4
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    I'd say that each commissar executes an officer. The Commissars will stop executing Sergeants after there are no more sergeants (as the commissars are now the squad leaders and will never execute one of their own.)

    But why even go with 5 commissars? One is just fine. That's a lot of points to pay for more power weapons when they will probably start killing your power-weapon toting sergeants at some point. Not worth it IMO.

    Also the PCS cannont join a combined squad. Best you can do is a 5-man PCS and a 50-man Combined Squad.
    Last edited by Hockeyman506; January 23rd, 2010 at 07:50.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Moschaboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    If you could join the PCS to that unit it would be downright broken. Imagine a 60 man units with feel no pain and lots of power weapns. Add straken or Creed for furious charge and so much about guard beeing bad in close combat harhar.



  7. #6
    Now w/ English voice-over LastDinosaur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Age
    27
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    61 (x1)

    My interpretation seems to differ a bit, I'd argue that only -one- model will be executed. My thoughts go like this: as soon as you have removed a model you -must- reroll your failed Ld test, however you're not allowed to reroll any dice more than once, and when the rules conflict we must apply reason, and reason here would mean that only one model will ever get executed, I think they'd have made a point about it if they intended otherwise (saying one model per commisar or equivalent).

    Also @Hockeyman: Once you have killed all the sergeants the commisars start killing off the standard infantrymen at random (might as well be your heavy weapon team or grenade launcher).

  8. #7
    Senior Member Moschaboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    Thanks LastDinosaur, that reasoning makes the most sense to me, i'll play it like that.



  9. #8
    Son of LO kevin vanrooyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,884
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    452 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by LastDinosaur View Post
    My interpretation seems to differ a bit, I'd argue that only -one- model will be executed. My thoughts go like this: as soon as you have removed a model you -must- reroll your failed Ld test, however you're not allowed to reroll any dice more than once, and when the rules conflict we must apply reason, and reason here would mean that only one model will ever get executed, I think they'd have made a point about it if they intended otherwise (saying one model per commisar or equivalent).

    Also @Hockeyman: Once you have killed all the sergeants the commisars start killing off the standard infantrymen at random (might as well be your heavy weapon team or grenade launcher).
    That's my interpritation of the rule, however i'd only go with one commissar, the power weapon is nice but it's a lot of points and not that many attacks.

    The Emperor Protects
    IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
    Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts