Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What is your opinion on how the Valk should be based?
Do you like the big honky tonk base it comes with?
Or do you switch it out for 4 mini floater bases?
Or do you go commando and just lay if flat on the table?
I guess the real reason I posted is to ask if the Valk can move up and down...if you playing the Ven-d you'll want it high for the LC shots.
Ive only seen one guy play all on the super flying bases...but he was squeezing a cover save out of wherever he could.
Technically you are required to field it on the large flying base it comes with. If not, you are playing them illegally.
That being said I don't mind scratch-built bases that are the same size. Best one I've seen so far is a buddy of mine with an urban themed army. He has the Vendetta hovering just above a billboard (doesn't count for cover of course.)
I used the base it came with, as those are the rules.
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Yep, the one it comes with. For access / disembarking you can interestingly use "the base" as per the FAQ http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...Guard_2009.pdf :
- Q. How do you treat the Valkyrie base for
gaming? Due to its height it seems that it is
impossible for a Valkyrie to contest an objective,
or for troops to disembark/embark normally.
A. Follow the rules in Measuring Distances in the
Skimmers section in the Warhammer 40,000
rulebook with the following exception: For the
purposes of contesting objectives and
embarking/disembarking from a Valkyrie or
Vendetta, measure to and from the model’s base.
For example, models wishing to embark within a
Valkyrie can do so if at the end of their
movement, all models within the unit are within
2" of the Valkyrie’s base.
Which suggests to me you can embark at any point on the base (as per their example), thus disembark anywhere on the base. (from the tip of the front). No more aquard turning to disembark my men, reducing my targets for me then.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
Of course if your valkyrie is one of the older forgeworld resing designs it will have the smaler clear plastic base like those on a tau devil fish. With the FAQ saying just use the base you should equip them with the new tall flying base. The rules say you shouldnt get an advantage bcause of the basing.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.