Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Not sure if this question has been asked before and if it has could you please direct me to it.
Ok i have been a bit confused by the allies rules in the Daemonhunters codex...am i correct in saying that Daemonhunters can only take EITHER allied space marines OR inducted IG but NOT both but witch hunters can be taken with both? Also do witch hunters have the same unit restrictions when taken as allies or since both daemonhunters and witch hunters are from the inquisition can they use any units?
Thanks guys for any advice you can give me and like i said at the top if this question has already been answered somewhere else could you please direct me to it, i had a quick look but couldnt find anything
Correct me anyone else if I'm wrong but I read it as:
DH can be allied into IG or SM, but not if those armies (SoB too) already include allied IG/SM.
However you can ally both DH and WH into an IG or SM army as it is another Ordos of the Inquisition (another order as it where), thereby circumnavigating the rule about other allies not being taken, as it stated by the codex.
for my rule of thumb it is that if wh or dh are the parent lis then only sm or ig can be allied not both, also i would think that if the parent list is wh or dh then they may allly each other, unless they are already allied with sm or ig. fluf wise this makes sense because why would one army call on two armies? if the sm or ig are the parent list then i believe you can ally both sisters and dh because the threat my include both psykers and deamons. If im deamon hunter i wouldnt call on space marine if i have greykinghts, if im space marine i would call on greykinghts because greyknights are specialist and better! if im dm hunter i call on ig simply because i dont have enought people around in the area to fight, and if im ig i call on dm because again they are specialist. i think the same situations apply to wh hunters, they are specialist not an alternate army that helps out at every whim.
we ally because of basic needs. if there is a deamonic threat we call the ordor that deals with deamons, if there are rebel psykers we call that order, and if we can handle it on our own we do so. if a specialist has a task at hand he doesnt refer to people that are not trained in the matter to help he perfers some one with the training, however there are so few that we sometimes find that we just need the man power.
If you are playing IG or SM, you may
* Ally in units from the DH codex
* Ally in units from the WH codex
* Do both at the same time.
If you are playing DH, you may:
* Induct IG
* Induct SM provided you aren't using any GKs
You may also ally in WH units whether or not you induct anything from the IG or SM codexes.
If you are playing WH, you may:
* Induct IG
* Induct SM provided you aren't using any SoBs
You may also ally in DH units whether or not you induct anything from the IG or SM codexes.
The only real restriction is that it is flatly impossible to include both IG and SM in the same army list.
Last edited by number6; February 11th, 2010 at 14:53.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
If I have Witch Hunters and Daemonhunters as allies are they restricted by the unit restrictions? e.g. 1 HQ, 1 elite, 2 troops, 1 fast attack and no heavy...(correct me if i am wrong as i dont have the book infront of me) I am thinking of doing either a witch hunters army with allied daemonhunters or daemonhunters with allied witch hunters. My thoughts are thet they are both from the inquisition so they shouldnt have the restrictions but they are also seperate codexes so i understand if the restrictions apply???
The restrictions still apply.
I'm sorry to hijack that thread but I don't think it's needed to open a new one...
In the codex it says that allied space marines may not be used if i use GKs.
But if I start from a SM codex i get to take:
up to 0-1 HQ, 0-1 Elite, 0-2 Troops, 0-1 Fast Attack, and 0 Heavy Support
So basically I could use:
1 SM HQ & 1 Inq Lord (incl their DH Vehicle z.b. Land Raider)
GKTs incl GKBC
2 SM Troops // 2 GK Squads
1 GK Fast attack
Just SM stuff
If i'm right the force org. chart is legit right?
Awesome, thanks a lot..
(now I'm really looking forward for the new BA Codex and their Assault Marines that count as Troops !)