Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A question that ya'll maybe able to help me with. I like to strongly interpret rules in RAW and am trying to work my logic around NFWs. Not in regards to the 'slain outright' rule, but with how items the negate the effects of force weapons to power weapons.
Let me just be clear here otherwise I could cause confusion. This isn't items that 'negate force weapons' but weapons that make 'force weapons count as normal power weapons' like Khârn's 'Blessing of the blood god rule. Hope the difference is noted.
So if NFW's are considered 'Force Weapons' (debatable to some) then doesn't that mean that they lose their 2+ str too? Normal power weapons don't have strength bonuses. Furthermore, I'm sure there are a few other items in the WH40K with similar descriptions but I can't remember them.
Obviously, being a DH player, I'd like to think we still get the bonus and according to boards we do though its never been explained. I'm trying to be objective a fair to future opponents if this issue arises. It hasn't so far but it's better to be prepared. I'd be grateful if any response could explain the logic as to why the bonus stays if true.
Last edited by Oiad; February 22nd, 2010 at 21:25.
There is no debate as to which weapons are and are not force weapons - there is a chart that reads 'Yes' and 'No' under the heading 'Force weapon' - see page 18 of the codex.
The chart also lists the properties of 'Power wepaon' and 'Strength bonus' seperately clearly showing that yes, it can be both a power weapon and grant a strength bonus, and no - negating one does not affect the others.
Of course. Forgot about that table. So you'd treat each attribute of the weapon as seperate - that for the games sake, the 2+ should not be thought of as an automatic minor power but as part of what the weapon itself provides (Ignore the fluff).
As for the relic blade/blessed weapon thing - apologies I did cause some confusion but not where I thought. I meant items with similar abilities to the 'Blessing of the Blood God', not other power weapons with strength bonuses. Thanks though.
Last edited by Oiad; February 22nd, 2010 at 22:57.
As long as your unit is armed with the nemisis force weapon he occurs a 2+ to his strength if the unit is a justicar or a brother -captain he gets 2+ strength and it counts as a power weapon and finally if he is a grandmaster he occurs a 2+ strength bonus, it counts as a power weapon, and it counts as a grey knight force weapon as said in the codex which overrides the rulebook.
Space marines 6 dread army Wins: 4 ties:2 Loses:7 Modified Standard nilla marines Wins:37 Ties:8 Loses 42 Daemonhunters Wins:3 Ties:0 Loses:1 Full assualt concept army wins: 6 Ties: none Loses: 2