Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So by now we all know the story of the Doom. Its eagerly awaiting FAQ about its nasty Spirit Leech ability and how it can be argued that this ability affects units inside transports and doesn't allow cover saves("As its not a shooting attack" says the Nid player).
My question is how this ties into the manner in which the new BA Sanguinary Priests and their FNP/FC aura works(and indeed the current Corbulo). Now obviously we do still await the exact wording of this new ability but provided its basically as it says does this mean that:
A) The Aura affects units inside transports who are 6" or less away from the Sang priest?
The aura is still active when the Sang priest is inside a transport? If so, then do you measure from the hull?
just something to discuss, as barring any notable overlooks in the wording, this seems to be how the ability works.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
I have not seen the entry for this power yet, but here are several thoughts... 1) Does it say anywhere about needing LOS for the Aura to work? 2) If the power does indeed work while the priest is embarked, you would measure from the hull (just like hoods and other powers) 3) I can't comment on if it affects embarked units since we have that Doom question floating around. My thoughts are nothing affects units embarked in transports. Therefore the Aura wouldn't be needed. 4) I don't have my BRB at work, but is there a section about AoE abilities in there? (I could be getting it confused with Fantasy)
If line of sight is not explicitly required, then yes. It will affect units in transports within 6'' and will apply if the SP is inside a transport, with the 6'' measured from the hull. I've always understood "aura" powers to work this way; I believe the Ork Mek's force field does the same.
The issue with Doom is that the "aura" isn't beneficial, so it's much more controversial to the opponent.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
The idea that the Doom works on squads in a transport is not a settled issue, so I wouldn't worried about it yet. I certainly wouldn't let a tyranid player use that crap.
That was my thinking to, until I played a Nid player at a Con. The ruling their was it worked on my units in Rhino's. I was pissed to say the least.
The Wolf time is upon us!
Rep for the Rep God! Positive for the Positive Throne!
Armies: Space Wolves, Imperial Guard, Emperors Children, Necrons, Eldar
Does a model inside a transport get any real benefit from the aura anyway, or is the question simply does it work out of the transport.
Another issue, can he use a fire-point to project the aura by maybe sticking his grail out the window
If you call it a Missile launcher, then it'll never hit anything.
100% of people who aren't Karmoon know Saraneth is invincible.
That's what I was thinking, if he could use a fire point he could use the aura IMO. As far as the Doom goes, you can fire out of fire points but firing into them with it's aura or even hitting troops in weichles without fire points is completely out of the question. Anyways that's just my opinion.
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
There really isn't any precedent being set here in regards to the Doom. The thing about the Doom is that it only affects non-vehicular units. If a unit is embarked in a transport, then you follow all the rules for transports, not infantry. It is, in essence, a vehicular unit and not an infantry unit while it is so embarked. It doesn't have wounds, can't assault, can't move except to disembark, etc. IMO Spirit Leech should not affect units in a vehicle. To affect infantry in vehicles is to open up a can of worms. What if they lose 25% and start to fall back but can't because the vehicle exits were blocked or it moved flat-out (or whatever)?
With regards to the Blood Angels, it doesn't appear that the power is a shooting attack so it should work, just as psychic hoods and the KFF works from inside a transport. You would measure from the hull.
Last edited by jy2; March 10th, 2010 at 02:46.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2