Welcome to Librarium Online!
when assault terminators (or any terminators for that matter) charge from a land raider crusader do they strike first due to the frag assault launchers despite not being able to take frag grenades as gear?
They strike as if they have frag grenades, i.e. in regular initiative order (not first). That is their purpose.
Right. Probably won't be the case for powerfist/thunderhammer, but there's a good chance of it with the PW/claw guys.
Actually...the BRB says that powerfists always hit on 1's, no matter the wargear etc. That obviously includes the shock-and-awe panels on the Crusader.
Edit: From now on they are SAAPs, not "frag launchers". While Fragmentation Grenade Launchers is true in the most technical sense, it's underwhelming, which for 40k would be like bringing a Packbot to a Skynet convention.
Last edited by rafis117; March 12th, 2010 at 04:19.
Terminator armor going critical would be like Three Mile Island only very, VERY angry, and carrying a hammer.
LO rules in a nutshell: Don't post unit costs, be polite, rep posts containing of win.
ok, thanks all for the input
The confusion sounds like it's coming from the way frag grenades were changed in 5th edition. Just to sum up:
Normally, when slowed down by difficult terrain (or an identical effect) during the assault phase, the assaulters have their initiative reduced to 1. Frag grenades allow them to attack at regular initiative order.
One additional thing to remember is that there is no initiative penalty when assaulting enemies that are already locked in close combat. In that case, you strike at initiative order regardless of whether you have frag grenades or not.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."