Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a buddy that hasn't really played 40k since 3rd Edition, when he was a little kid. Jumping back into 5th now to fight me, he wants to use his old Vindicare assassin with his Codex Marines. I've heard differing things on what it takes to bring one in a SM army and be legit. Not that I really want him having an assassin on the board, lol, but maybe it'd be fun to mix things up. Which book has the correct stat line for him as well? Can anyone enlighten me? Thanks.
Right now Codex Assassins and Codex Daemon Hunters are the same.
I am an Indestructible master of War.
The Daemonhunter and Witch hunter codexes have the rules and stats. But unless he happens to have an inqisitor....
yeah deamonhunters (definate) or witchhunters (i think) codex. You need to take an inquisitor in the army (DH allied to SM base list or visa versa (if taking SM in a DH list certain limitations apply)) to allow the use of assasins.
P.s. only your 'hidden' powerfists and heavy weapon marines need to worry about the vindicare, it's not widely regarded as an out and out HQ killer (not from my DH past anyway), the callidus is the worry for the HQs. Either way the DH forum reguarily get this question asked to give them a call.
all the best
Grey Knight and Space Wolf blog - http://spacewolfgallery.blogspot.com/
You have to take an Inquisitor Lord (an HQ choice - not the elites version) in addition to the assassin, and the lord must take at least three henchmen.
Ahh ok, it's the Inq Lord you need to take. He heard other things from his LGS buddies like he had to take a Chaplain, and I usually know to ignore anything they have to say, lol. But the Inq Lord makes a lot more sense. I'll check out the DH book then for stats and tell him about the Lord and henchment, to see if he still wants to take an assassin after all that. Thanks!
Well, ok, but can't he just field it via Codex Assassins instead of using codex DH or WH?