Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Right- first of- i run my death company in a razorback- and im about 85 % sure that they cant assault the turn they leave it. Is that right.
With that in mind- How should i keep them alive- i dont want to disembark only to get blown away by bing shot by everything possible. Do i just dissembark them somewhere unseen or in cover and hope.
So, if your Razorback is within 12'' of an enemy unit at the start of your Movement phase, your Death Company can disembark, move 6'', shoot, and then assault 6'', exactly as if they had started the phase on the board in the same space as the transport. If, alternatively, you choose to move your Razorback up to 12'', the DC can still disembark but they'll only be able to shoot and will be vulnerable to a counter-assault in your enemy's turn.
Counter-assault is the real danger; shooting is not so huge, since you'll still be able to move and assault next turn, albeit undermanned. If you lose the charge, however, your Death Company are much less effective and they get locked in combat with a unit that your opponent probably regards as expendable.Your best option is to get the Razorback within a close distance of the enemy and fire its smokes. This will help it survive your opponent's turn (although hopefully you have other transports to distract it) and keep your DC safe until your next movement phase, when they can disembark and assault. It helps to visualise a 12-14'' "threat range" around your Razorback that represents the distance the squad inside can assault. You should never, ever, ever disembark the Death Company if there isn't something they can assault within that threat range, for the above reasons. Some inferno pistol shots aren't worth losing the charge.With that in mind- How should i keep them alive- i dont want to disembark only to get blown away by bing shot by everything possible. Do i just dissembark them somewhere unseen or in cover and hope.
Razorbacks are not the safest method of delivering Death Company (your best on-land option is a Land Raider, which can accomodate their huge squad sizes and has the added bonus of having the Assault Vehicle rule) but the squad inside should be cheap enough that it's not a huge investment.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
'You can assault if you haven't moved your razor in the turn they disembark. So drive up to the enemy and if they don't force you out of the razor by blowing it up, just jump out yourself.
Edit: Ninjaed.. but basically said the same as poodle.
Last edited by LastDinosaur; April 18th, 2010 at 10:18.
That helps a lot. Its just a lot of points to lose because i cant assault. Cheers