Tactical question.... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    jboweruk
    Guest

    Tactical question....

    On Friday I have to field an army of between 500 and 1500 points, this my new IG Catachan can do:

    3 platoons of 20, plus command squads,
    1 HQ squad including 'Strachan'
    a Commissar ( I reckon on using him as a Lord Commissar for his bonus)
    1 platoon also includes a heavy weapons squad of lascannons
    2 squads in that platoon have mortars
    1 squad has a lascannon
    1 has a missile launcher
    1 has a heavy bolter
    plus an old veteran Mordian Iron guard squad (melta and Grenade launcher with 'Grenadiers'.

    And I'll have a choice of 3 Leman Russ (2 standard pattern and a demolisher)

    My question is, would you drop any of this and take an Inquisitor with a Callidus or Vindicare Assassin? Or just pick from the IG I have? In total it comes to just over 1800 points although I won't actually get my hands on the tanks until Friday evening.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    29
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    both assassins take a lot of points and the vindicare assassin won't make back his points. the inquisitor on the other hand, if you do decide to take one, you can add a hierophant and stick a psychic hood on the inquisitor, giving you protection from psychic abilities. you can also give him a couple of mystics. otherwise, just skip the inquisitor allies

    the commissar lord won't help you at all. just keep him as a normal commissar and blob up multiple squads together

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Korona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,154
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    340 (x6)

    I disagree, the Vindicare can easily make back his points with the new rending rules for sniper rifles. If you fire the turbo-penetrator at a tank you get 3+D3 for the sniper rifle's natural penetration plus 3 D6 for the turbo penetrator (and an extra D3 for each extra 6 you roll). That averages out around 15-16. You stand a very good chance of penetrating any armoured vehicle with that.

    He can also pick out any target regardless of conditions. That means he can single out pesky chaplains to deny "feel no pain" rolls to the squad, even shooting your own guys if a lone hero is locked in assault. Drop him and then you can open up with your big guns. Vs a chaplain f.e. he would hit on 2+ wound on 2+ with his hellfire round and AP 2 means no armour or FNP saves.

    Basically just shoot anyone who can be killed in one hit. You can go so far as to use the shield breaker round to ignore the invuln save on special characters. Add all this on top of the horrific psychological damage you will be doing to your opponent being able to single out his NCOs and drop them. He is boss, for just 110 points he will make it back easy.


    Psychologically the Callidus is even better. You can move the enemy's troops before the battle kicks off. The scope here is awesome. Moving them together to be blasted by ordianace. Moving heavy weapon units behind obstacles so they have to set up again. The scope here is endless and you can thwart key units from having any impact on the battle for a good turn or two if you do it right.

    If that wasn't enough you can also place her anywhere and then move and assault like normal. You opponent will be sweating bricks until she shows up. Imagine her vs a fateweaver or a farseer or some cheesy lynchpin unit like that. Even if she doesn't kill him/her/it the impact of being powerless to stop her is surely going to take its toll. Next time I am taking her for sure.
    Last edited by Korona; April 28th, 2010 at 03:58.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    29
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    i disagree with your disagreement about the vindicare.

    33% of the time (assuming Dawn of War), he has to walk on, meaning that:
    1) he loses a turn due to not being on the table
    2) he loses a turn due to walking on
    averaging to only 4 shots that turn, assuming optimal conditions, free line of sight, etc.

    he will also generally miss 1 shot per game.

    also, fact: he has to have proper line of sight.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Korona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,154
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    340 (x6)

    Well you need to predict where the enemy will be for sure. I don't see anything in the Dawn of War rules that says you miss two turns though, you can walk in on turn one.
    Yeah he does have limits but you can work around them. The bulk of his power is his specialist ammo, and that only needs three turns to use up. Yeah you can miss, ones do happen, but you are paying points for the odds he gives you and the psychological impact he has on the enemy, not for certainty. There is no such thing in 40k !

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    29
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    sry, but i just dont see him making back his points. maybe if your opponent decked out on special characters and power fists and you picked those off.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Korona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,154
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    340 (x6)

    let's assume it's a normal game and not DOW, he gets a good chance to penetrate pretty much any vehicle. That's pretty powerful against most armies right there, taking out one of my chimeltas for example would leave me 55 points down and 100 points of vets stranded and easy pickings in the wrong half of the field. Same goes for berserkers in rhinos and so on. Even an imobilised result is pretty good vs transports.

    Even better if you are facing a space marine army with dreadnaughts. One dreadnaught kill would pay for him right away.

    Sniping dudes is more useful than it sounds. VS guard if you can take out the commissar, then poof the big blob of meat is going to break really easily. Consider that most units are delivery vehicles for one or two special weapons. Taking out their lascannon can make a whole devastator squad nearly useless for example.
    Last edited by Korona; April 28th, 2010 at 04:24.

  9. #8
    jboweruk
    Guest

    I don't know what it will be, it won't be any of the official missions, our club owner has written them specially and will hand out envelopes to each of us Friday night, then I believe we are given an opponent so don't even have a clue, I could end up facing anything from Guard through Eldar to Necrons or Chaos....

    Thanks for the input guys, it's interesting to see and take in the varied opinions on the usefulness of each Assassin. I remember taking a Callidus once (house game and completely forgot about the Inquisitor rule back then) and she butchered an entire Chaos command unit on the first turn she arrived.

  10. #9
    jboweruk
    Guest

    Just to update, I chose a basic force, and will try that instead. Depending on size it will range from a Lord Commissar + Vets + platoon (C500), to a full on hq with 2 platoons and tanks (1495). And we'll just have to see how it fares.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts