Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I got a nasty surprise today when I tried out my new Vendetta. I brought it in from an outflank move which meant getting it entirely on the table would take more than 6 inches of movement (because of wing/tail overhangs). My opponent believed that a model moving in from off the table must end up completely on the table. That means it couldn't fire all of its guns. I had never heard of the problem and he was pretty adamant so that's how we played it. Subsequently I found out that the issue is actually a pretty big area of controversy with no explicit answer in the RAW. How do other people play this? Some idea of the wider consensus would be nice. Personally I feel it is pedantic to interpret the rules this way. It penalises the vendetta for the designer's artistic flair. It is saying that I could convert it into a copter and now it can behave in a totally new way. That's a bit mad.
Last edited by Korona; April 30th, 2010 at 02:01.
I'd just say go by the base for determining whether or not the model is 'fully' on the table. They even say in errata and FAQ's that the actual body of the vendetta itself only counts for LOS. All other things, like disembarking and assaulting, are done by its oval-shaped base. So I'd say as long as you can get the base on in under 6" of movement, you can still fire all weapons.
Yeah the base is where it really matters. Your weapons are hanging by the base and the extra inches give your opponent an advantage for shooting it too. Anyone who plays it differently is trying to be a pain.
Check my Blog for Battle Reports, useless ranting and more! Comments appreciated.
Like to talk Warhammer or want some advice on Armies or Tactics? Drop me a PM!
I don't count the wings and the tail as part of the Vendetta's body. So if they hang off the table, no biggie. I've only ever had one person argue that I had to move 12" when I came on, and he's mellowed on it since.
I always go by the base. Running 6 of these has given me ample time to deal with people like that. The base is what you mesure from, just tell them that before the game that you will be mesuring from the base. I have been lucky in the fact that the vast majority of players now all the players in my game store go off from the base or agree with me since it would be almost impossible to do anything with the Vendetta otherwise. and the Prince of Excess is right. That guy sounds like a power gamer who will do anything he can to win, you just cant reason with some people.The next time him or anyone complains about it tell them to look it up and prove you wrong, since they cant then to bad for them. Again just tell them before the game that your mesuring from the base.
Last edited by GMAleron; April 30th, 2010 at 15:13.
Real players go Guard....Real Men go Airborne!
He was alright, just a former guard player who had been hit with the same interpretation of the rules and seemed determined to inflict it on others.
If a vehicle has a base that's where you measure to and from (just be careful you don't walk by and "clip" the overhanging tail.
you use the base, that's in RAW.
I am also pretty certain that Moving a vehicle on is in RAW - you move a vehicle on at a speed, and that determines how many guns can fire.
I need to get a page ref (and hope i'm not getting mixed up with apocalypse) but i'm pretty certain if you're coming in off reserves and don't fit, just move the vehicle on until it's all on.
You move in at "cruising"(? it that the term?) speed, which would limit you to 6" and you can fire all your guns. You have to move a additional 1.25" to fitt it on the table. You still moved cruising and still fire all the guns.
I need a page ref to quote this properly (at work) but you're not restricted.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
I believe that is correct as well, otherwise the monolith would almost certainly never be able to fit on the table edge while floating on.
The guy that was saying I had to move 12" used Land Raiders that can't move 6" and fit on the board.