Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does the fact that the Glaive Encarmine is a two-handed weapon confer an bonuses? I can't find anywhere in the rulebook or the BA codex that says that it does but maybe I missed something.
I'm just asking because the Vanguard Vet Sarge can exchange his power sword for one but I really see absolutely no point in doing this. You loose the extra attack for 2 CCW's in exchange for a re-roll from master crafting which makes him less effective overall (esp since chaplains and libby's can give re-rolls as well). They only possible use I could see for it is if you wanted to give him a Storm Shield too but that starts to get absurdly expensive for an already overpriced unit.
I know there have been other two-handed weapons that give +1 or +2 strength so I thought maybe I missed something somewhere.
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
No there is no other reason to have a glaive encarmine, the master-crafting is it.
My guess is they included it as an option that way people who are absurdly WYSIWIG will be satisfied with the metal vanguard sgt who looks like he's holding a relic blade. Because there aren't any relic blades they allow for the glaive encarmine option. Stupid, as I don't know anyone who wouldn't let me use that model as a simple power weapon sgt.
Most Notable Achievements:
Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.
Untill it's been FAQed I believe you will still get an extra attack when using a two-handed weapon, unless it specifically states you don't get it.. (like the SM relic blade)..
This is of course RAW-bitching.. But I believe there's no reference to two-handed weapons in the rulebook..
Edit: This would apply to Astorath's axe aswell..
The intent would seem to be that a model could not take advantage of a 2-handed weapon with a pistol or other close-combat weapon to gain the extra attack bonus during assault. It's not that clear, but pretty obvious intent. As LastDinosaur says though that a strict RAW interpretation would say otherwise though, but I doubt you'll see too many people make that argument in friendly games.