Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What happens if I fail my psychic test with vortex of doom if I'm doing it from the hatch of a rhino?
Does the rhino take the blast, the librarian only, the librarian+rhino+all passengers?
It's not in the GW FAQ
Thanks for the help
"Iron Within, Iron Without"
I'd say it hits the rhino.
Which is actually better for the librarian. There are tonnes of ways to look at it and unless there is a specific answer to it or someone can quote something I aint thinking of then theres only one solution.
Make a club/house rule or agree before the game or something like that.
Theres another thread exactly the same in the rules help section, just remembered, was going to look at it. heres the link.
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ail-rhino.html (Vortex Of Doom fail in a Rhino)
Last edited by Castellan Green; May 14th, 2010 at 16:10. Reason: Link
"I have dug my grave in this place and I will either triumph or I will die!" Reclusiarch Grimaldus
"Those I cannot crush with words I will crush with the Tanks of the Imperial Guard!" Lord Solar Macharius
"Hear Me Inquisitor Ordinary. Obey me. I am of the Malleus!" Inquisitor Jaq Draco
I found the FAQ for the adepticon tournaments and they say to resolve the hit against the rear armor of the rhino only.
It's not the official ruling by games-workshop but I think that the adpeticon FAQ is pretty good, especially since they keep it up to date.
"Iron Within, Iron Without"
There isn't a official GW ruling, so in instead of using a TO's "rules council" ruling, you should do what GW says when there is a rules issue. Talk it out with your opponent, if you can't agree, dice off.
As far as I know there is no ability that can hurt a unit that is safely embarked in a transport. Sketchy rulings from a few events non-withstanding, so I would resolve it against the rhino. The rules for barrage weapons to determine what side it is hit on makes sense, though that ruling is as arbitrary as anything else. (so I would 4+ it, rarely matters, even if it hits side or front its still pens on a 2)
If you are playing in a tourney, the TO's ruling, if there is one, is the final word.
I would say it hits the librarian, the troops and the rear armour of the transport, they guy is exploding on the inside of a transport, surrounded by him team mates.
I agreed with you until you actually made me think about it
I find the Adepticon FAQ to be the best solution to this conundrum. The more I think about it, I think their ruling is actually rooted in the rules. In the case of a perils of the warp, the blast marker is placed over the Librarian and does not scatter. The librarian is within the vehicle, therefore the blast marker is placed over the vehicle and resolves against the rear armour, just as most other effects that would damage a vehicle from within or beneath, or from a source that does not draw LOS to an armour facing. Otherwise, there are no other rules (that I know of) that explain how passengers within a vehicle could take damage while remaining within the vehicle.
I've recently become a fan of this thing called Dubstep. And you should too.
Datsik & Flux Pavillion - Crunch (Youtube)
Da Moo Kowz is da drinkinest Orks of dem all!