Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quick question about The Gate of Infinity psychic power.
Can this power be used at the start of the movement phase to 'teleport' the Librarian and his attached unit from within a transport vehicle to anywhere within 24"? Or do they need to be disembarked and stood on the battlefield?
This may sound a bit of an odd question but I thought it might add an element of surprise to my tactics by shifting a unit quickly towards an objective / enemy unit while leaving their vehicle as fire support.
That's a damn good question, I think you found a rules conundrum. I can't find it in the BRB that says you can't, and the Marine Dex doesn't specify.
The Wolf time is upon us!
Rep for the Rep God! Positive for the Positive Throne!
Armies: Space Wolves, Imperial Guard, Emperors Children, Necrons, Eldar
I posed this question at my LGS, we came to the conclusion that yes you can, as long as the vehicle hasn't moved.
This does not mean however, that we are correct! I suggest asking this question in the 40k rules forum.
No you can't.
The power specifically states that the models must be removed "from the tabletop". If they're riding in a vehicle the models aren't on the tabletop, so using Gate to teleport them out of a vehicle is tantamount to Deep Striking the unit from reserve. Which is fine if they're Terminators, but gives power armoured models an advantage they wouldn't otherwise have.
For a different perspective, let's say I have a Librarian with Gate attached to a 5-man Combat Squad with a Meltagun and Combi-Melta riding in a Rhino. If I can Gate the unit out of their vehicle I can drop two Meltagun shots on top of anything within 24" of my Rhino. Seems a bit borked to me.
Also worth mentioning that you use Gate at the start of the movement phase. That means a Librarian who disemarks from a vehicle can't use Gate in the same turn, because his disembark move means the movement phase has begun and thus you've missed your chance to use Gate.
Just because you can't fit 10 marines in a rhino dies not mean thatvthey are not on the table
also in dawn of war you put 2 troop units in, a squad and a rhino
by your logic then you have no put down a unitnof marines
with gates u use the DS rules but thay are being teleported not shot from orbit
I would gave to say yes you can use gates while inside a vihicle
Guardsman ethic is "We're normal and we fight crazy stuff."
Witch Hunters ethic is "We're crazier then they are!"
I think Frank has it right here.
Page 57 of your codexclearly states that "The Librarian, and any unit he is with, are removed from the tabletop" Personally I would find it hard to remove models from a table that they are located on. Every player knows that the 40k universe ends at the edge of every tabletop and the hatch of every transport. Anything beyond these things is not on the tabletop.
If they were to be on the tabletop when in the transport it would mess with many other rules this game has used for many editions running. There are many weapons and abilities that target every enemy unit within a certain distance such as the Monolith's Gauss Flux Arc, but if these models are allowed to Gate out of a transport then they are on the board, so they would now even be affected by rules such as this. This is how the game has and will continue to work at least until 6th edition (and on that note it would be a shock to me if they changed it).
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
Because the vehicle model represents itself and the unit inside it. The unit inside it isn't on the tabletop.also in dawn of war you put 2 troop units in, a squad and a rhinoAnd by your logic you have put down Marines when you haven't actually put down any Marines. That isn't logic at all.by your logic then you have no put down a unitnof marinesFluff is irrelevant.with gates u use the DS rules but thay are being teleported not shot from orbit
I'm going to have to disagree that models inside transports are "on the table". This has been debated alot . The unit coexists with the transport. The removed from table terminology is simply explaining that the two models can't fit on the board together. I'd also like to point out the following.Originally Posted by BRB FAQ. page 1 top right coloumn
Last edited by Xpyre35; June 13th, 2010 at 17:45.
That's been pointed out before and it's completely irrelevant. If Gate said "the models must be removed from their current position" or something ambivalent like that you'd have a case, and the FAQ answer would support it. Fact is, Gate gives you a very specific set of circumstances in which it can be used, and therefore there's not really any way to lawyer your way around it.