Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm a bit confused about using psychic powers from a rhino.
1. Can their "shooting" attack powers be used just like a normal marine firing from a rhino?
2. If the psychic power confers a ward save to the whole squad, would it affect the squad they're with and the rhino they're inside?
Any idea where I can find these in the rulebook?
Last thing I need is to be called a "cheater", when I had no idea I was doing something wrong...
Thanks in advance.
Psychic shooting attacks, once you passed your psychic test, are shooting attacks in all respects. If there is a fire point available and all other conditions are met (rhino did not move too far, etc) the psyker can use his shooting attack from inside the rhino just like some other model firing its weapon.
2. Depends on the power. (Note, though, that in Warhammer 40.000 there are no "ward saves".)
The power will specify who benefits from the save. If it's "the psyker and his unit" then it is the psyker and his unit, meaning the squad. There would be no reason to include the transport they ride in. If it's "all friendly units within 6 inches" or something similar, then - of course - the rhino would be included, unless vehicles are specifically excluded. I assume you are talking about the Rune Priest power Storm Caller. In this case the rhino would not benefit from the cover save as well, because it is not a "friendly squad within 6" as specified in the power's description on page 37, Codex: Space Wolves.
But concerning the range of the power while transported: "If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull", page 66, big rulebook.
Hope that helps.
On a side note, for transports (and vehicles in general, to include walkers here) to benefit from Cover, they have to be more than 50% obscured or the psychic power has to grant them obscured status, like an Ork Kustom Field Force does.
Otherwise, the vehicle gets no cover saves.
Thanks for the replies.
It seems I haven't broken myself from calling invul saves "ward" saves. I know there's a difference, I'm just crazy like that I guess ...
Anywho, thanks again for the help and not making me out for much of a goob then I already am
just remember if you say you can shoot out, you cant claim enemy psykers cant shoot in! so be careful before you open that can of worms.
The only honorable options left to we combatants is seppuku or semantics...which amount to the same thing really.
"Page 37, Storm Caller, replace the last sentence
[…] he and all friendly units within 6" benefit
from a 5+ cover save."
That the rhino plus any other vehicles/squads, etc within 6" (even if only 1 model of squad is within 6") would benefit from the 5+ Cover Save.
Hope this helps.
Proud -=< ANZAC CLAN >=- Member