Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay lets say I want to be crazy and get rid of their jetpacks so they can ride in a rhino or drop pod for free... Does this mean that I could also choose to maybe BUY a Razorback transport option? Situation is i have 85 points to spend, and nothing really gleaming to spend them on (because I can't have 4 HS choices...) so I was going to buy a Razorback with Lascannon and TL Plasma Guns to replace my Predator w HB sponsons, but I'm checking to see if it's legal. Guys that I play against say they have no problem, which is good, until I want to bring it into a store and someone goes "HEY!". It is not in any FAQ I could find (maybe i'm alone in asking...) nor is it specifically restricted or shown as an option... thoughts and/or a page in either the codex or rulebook I might find this on?
It is not crazy at all to drop the jump packs for another transport. You will get the drop pod or rhino for free, but whatever transport you buy for that squad you will get a reduction of XX points. That is on the bottom of page 89 under Dedicated Transports. You can not buy more than one transport for the squad, in my opinion however. The wording says you can buy "any dedicated transport" but I interpret it to mean "any single dedicated transport." In the main rulebook on page 67 in a sidebar titled "Dedicated Transports" it says (paraphrasing) sometimes a unit is allowed in their codex to buy a transport. This is a 'dedicated' transport.
Once again let me point out I was paraphrasing, but it seems clear to me that purchasing 2 transports for the same unit is not allowed.
Almost any other infantry unit in the army can buy a transport...if you have the points you could get it for, say, your dev squad (if you had one) and then use it for any other unit as long as the other unit does not start the game deployed in it.
Last edited by 4theEmperor!; June 18th, 2010 at 19:22. Reason: more to say...
Once a Marine, always a Marine.
***** Alright, I think I've solved my dilemma, I'll simply buy a razorback for my Dev squad, and not embark them, and when the game begins use the razorback to bring a scout squad up to objectives. Or maybe a tac squad... I don't know now! haha... But this works as far as i can see. Yes?
Last edited by LordDnigh; June 18th, 2010 at 21:56.
Yes, that plan will work to buy the razorback for devs and let another squad use it.
I was referring to page 89 in the Blood Angels codex. My mistake!! I saw assault squads and free rhino and made the assumption. I also happened to have the Blood Angels codex sitting in front of me at the time and so naturally my mind made the leap. Sorry for the confusion. (the funny thing is, in the BA codex the rhino is not free when you lose jump packs...there is a much reduced cost though...)
Once a Marine, always a Marine.
Appreciate all the help man, now I just have to find a random blank check floating through the air to finish buying this army list... I'll post it in the army list thread in about 10 minutes if you want to take a look. Have yourself a good weekend.
A razorback with the LC/TWP upgrade is a waste if you plan to transport assault troops. You want such a razorback to stay still, so you may get it's best performance.
You're better off with a razorback with it's TLHBs or upgrade to TWACs.