Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have what may seem a stupid question but here goes, can Grey Knight Terminators be transported in a Chimera?
I swear I read somewhere that they take up 2 places in a Chimera but now I cannot find where I read this. After reading around I can find that Terminators cannot be transported in a Rhino or a Razorback, as stated in the Space Marine codex, but there is no mention to a Chimera.
When I said to my opponent the other day at Games Workshop that my Grey Knight Terminators were in the Chimera I got shouted down that this is not possible and threatened with the sacrifice my firstborn for my heretical suggestion, although after asking the dudes that work there they were unsure as well so, going by the unstated rules in the Space Marine rulebook they told me that Terminators can only be transported in a Land Raider.
If there is anyone out there is the interweb that can throw some clarification on my issue it would be greatly appreciated, or does anyone know if the aforementioned document even exists or is my brain making things up?
Thanks heaps for the help guys and happy gaming to all
Page 30 of the codex states that the Chimera can carry up to 12 models, but nothing about not allowing anyone in Terminator armour. That same page does say that the Rhino cannot carry anyone in terminator armour, so I reckon your OK to go.
Also thanks Tautara for confirming my question, the help is greatly appreciated
No prob dude. Handy to be told about the inquisitor as well. You can always just deep strike your termies. It's a little risky, but no more so than driving through a war torn countryside. Although you do have issues if you then want to move onto another position I guess.
Unfortunately our Codex says on page 30 that models may only board their dedicated transports; since GKT can only take LRs as transports they can't get into a Chimera. You can put a Hero into a Chimera with a squad of stormies, but other than that you are out of luck.
I know the new rule book says that units can get into any transports, but as our codex puts the kibosh on that for us.
I can't find anything about GKT being limited to LRs in my codex. Do we have different versions or am I blind as a bat? The latter is quite possible
On page 30, there is a box on the very top of the page that says "Transports" right above it. In the box it says "Transports are always taken as an upgrade for another unit and may only transport the unit it was bought for."
Yeah, I have that but I was not aware it meant that GKTs weren't allowed in them. I'm still a little confused.
I have a little bit extra that may clarify, but most likely won't.
I spoke to a couple of GW retailers today and the general consensus is this:
1 - By the letter of the law, you can use Chimeras to transport as there is no actual wording prohibiting it in the codex.
2 - By the spirit of the game, you cannot. This is because Chimeras are IG transport and the only real reason you have them inthe codex is to transport ISTs and possibly your Inquisitor and his/her retinue.
Should be clear as mud now. I suggest you use your judgement on when to use them or not and base that decision on your opponent. If they are a stickler for the rule book, it will work in your favour. If they are playing for the sheer fun of a "mad as a cut cat wargame", perhaps not.