Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was just thinking about this. In a Mech army, is it worth substituting one of my Chimelta Vets for a second CCS? The CCS can take 4 bs4 meltas and is still 10 points cheaper than a veteran squad with 3. Similarly there is no major loss in surviveability due to the Chimera. Also it would give you the option of taking two astropaths and being almost certain of outflanking Vendettas on turn two. Is this worth it, can anyone see any significant downsides?
Loss of a scoring unit, a unit that is far easier to kill (as soon as the Chimera might Explode, you start loosing Meltas) and I'm not sure Astropaths bonus stack :/ (Correct me if I'm wrong)
But, in games of Planetstrike and Spearhead were every unit is scoring, they're uses go up
Loss of scoring unit is a bit annoying I guess, but the unit isnt that much easier to kill as both the vets and CCS will probably die when they lose their transport whatever. Have checked the codex. Dosn't say that astropath's can't stack so i'll take it that they can...
Q. If you take two Astropaths or two Officers of
the Fleet, do their +1/-1 to reserve rolls stack?
A. No. The advantage of having multiples of these
Regimental Advisors is that you can still gain the
benefit of the Telepathic Relay/Intercept Reserves
rules should one Astropath/Officer of the Fleet be
killed. The confusion created by having so many
advisors simultaneously vying for a Commander’s
attention negates any potential benefit.
Quoted from the FAQ on GWs website.
In my experience they are less usefull than the Veterans. Sure, once they get knocked out of the transport, they'll die. But, most often they'll have the chance to fire at least once before dying (more if you play it right). The CCS will most probably be loosing around 2 models in a Explosion, meaning 1 Melta less and a Officer (otherwise, 2 Meltas less). The Veterans will more or less be guaranteed the 3 Melta shots they can put out, and some additional firepower since they'll lose around 3-4 models.
Both will have to pass a Morale test, which the CCS will have an easier time with. But, to be remembered is that we don't ALWAYS face things that can totally annihilate a squad in a turn of shooting (assaults are most often at a loss for us). The Veterans have the possibility to linger at a squad size of even a single model after a nasty round fo shooting, and then simply be mindsore for our opponent and just lurk around an objective.
I would myself always prefer the Veterans, even over the possible Order or higher chance to pass a Morale check.
I guess it depends on how many scoring units you have around otherwise. As a mech player I have to think a bit extra about that little fact.
Best of luck, whatever you use though
If you have plenty of scoring units anyway, there really isn't a down side. More firepower for less points.
I WANNA GET STUCK IN WIT DA BOYZ