Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just thinking about making a fun space marine army, instead of my normal power gaming nature. And in order to limit the toughness of making a list points wise I'm curious, aside from landspeeder storms can scouts be mounted in vehicles?
For example, the land raider entry just says it has a transport capacity of 12 models, the scout entry doesn't state otherwise and scouts are models are they not.
Maybe I'm out on a limb here, but hey just wondering.
My understanding is scounts cant purchase dedicated transports but I don't see why you can't embark them if you purchase one as part of the FOC
Last edited by klondiker; July 20th, 2010 at 23:18.
You can buy a LR or any other non-dedicated transport and any model of the same codex can use it. They can even start inside the transport during deployment.
Even if you buy a dedicated transport for another troop, they can still use it after deployment. They just can start inside it.
And yes, your scouts are models and they can start inside the LR, provided this LR is not a dedicated transport for any other unit and no other unit is starting in it already.
Last edited by Cowboy; July 21st, 2010 at 00:12.
If you could turn your Codex to page 102 you will find the different armour types that Space Marines can be equipped with. Under the Scout Armour section you will not find any restrictions about being placed into transports. Under this there is the Terminator Armour section. In the Terminator Armour section the last paragraph is entirely about restrictions for Terminators being used in transports, showing should GW have intended to restrict Scout here they would have.
On page 134 of the Codex you will find the Scout entry where you do not have an option for a dedicated transport. This means that they will either have to take to battle in a Land Raider variant filling a Heavy Support slot, a Land Speeder Storm filling a Fast Attack slot, or jump in a dedicated transport belonging to another unit later in game as you can not start the game in another units dedicated transport (don't have my rulebook on me for a page refrence).
As long as you stick to this it is 100% legal rules wise to embark your Scouts into transport veichles.
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!