Welcome to Librarium Online!
When a unit like a drop pod deepstrikes and then the unit combat squads would that count as three units deepstrikin or one. Basically im curious if say im allied with guard could i fire three battle cannons at the three units or would it just be the drop pod. Thank you
Well, the FAQ states the you must choose the drop pod or the unit disembarking.
No idea about the combat squad, there is nothing definitive in the codex or the FAQ that states whether the shots take place before or after the unit combat squads.
Last edited by Hockeyman506; August 28th, 2010 at 00:14.
"The player can choose to split such a unit into combat squads when it disembarks from the Drop Pod" Space Marine Codex, combat-squad rules P51
Therefore it effectively disembarks as 2 units so I'd say you'd get one for each (as it essentially means they must have deep-struck as 2 units inside the same transport). However hockeyman is right, nothing definitive.
You definitely don't get three because the FAQ does say choose pod or squad; Which makes me think you only get one. It seems to me with rule of 2 units deep striking together grants one shot, I suspect three units deep striking together grants one shot. It is true nothing is stated, But I think both logic and other rules both point to just one shot. (logic in that your mystics are like there are going to be 10 guys in a pod landing there, take a shot Vs, them being like there are ten guys coming out of a pod right there take two shots.)