Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The part about automatically passing regroup tests even under half strength is easy enough but this part gives me troube:
"Usually troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this special rule."
I interpret this as "space marines don't count as moving when they regroup."
I was playing a space wolf player with my space marines and I knocked his wolfy version of devastators (long fangs?) with 5 missile launchers down to moral check range. He fails and they run. I jokingly point out, hey at least they can still fire after they regroup.
He tells me they can't. I proceed to read ATSKNF to him and he looks at me like I'm dumb merely slowly repeating "you can't fire a heavy weapon if you move."
Not that I'm complaining that he didn't fire his ML at me but I'm pretty sure he could have. Otherwise I really see no point in half of ATSKNF.
Can anyone clarify for me?
The way that you interpreted the rules is exactly how I have been playing as well. I would think it is pretty clear when it says that they "don't count as moving." It is a similar exception to the rules as with the relentless rule. While they are worded differently ("don't count as moving" as opposed to "count as stationary") the two phrases mean the same thing; that the model COUNTS as not having moved. It doesn't matter if it actually did move, it just counts as not having done so
Yeah, it's fariley black and white, ATSKNF doesn't leave a lot of grey area.
"Usally troops that regroup cannot move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models subject to this rule"
The models don't count as moving..... Ya'know, unless they actuley move.
How about this, 10 man Devistator Squad, Split into 2- 5 man Combat Squad w/ 2HW in each .. put them in the back of a Rhino, you can still have 2 HWs fire from the fire Points, and you have to bust my Tank before you could make me Run, and I can Still Shoot at you from Inside the Rhino even if your assaulting it or simply Drive away LoL, I like Dropping a Rifleman Dread on Enemy Side after hes started crossing the board to Fire at His Flanks to. OH and you ask what good is a Dreads Grapple, well Ive yanked 2 vehicles away from contesting my Objectives
Thanks for the clarification. I knew I had it right.
It was his missile launchers he was choosing to believe he couldn't fire, yet why am I so adamant about this? Because I know I'm right dammit and that's a victory outside the game that I needed won! Moral victory at least.
Well.... I'd prefer a victory atop a pile of dead enemys, but, if I can't have that, a moral victory is better than nothing.why am I so adamant about this? Because I know I'm right dammit and that's a victory outside the game that I needed won! Moral victory at least
Like the profile picture, BERSERK ROCKS. Guts would make an awesome Spacemarine, I think he'd be a match for one already. Have you ever thought of your own little fan fluff where Guts world is actuley a world in the 40k universe that's just regressed back to a medievil age and the God Hand are actuley the local warp beasties? (I have)
I've actually imagined what would happen if he did exist in the 40k universe. With the new relic blade option I've sometimes think about trying to make a captain in his image. Maybe when I have time outside my other projects.
Considering his constant conflict with demons however he might be better as a Daemon Hunter... hmmm.... maybe the new daemon hunter dex will give me some interesting conversion ideas.
That's a discussion for a different board tho.