Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just wondering, the rules say an officer can issue orders while inside a chimera, but that orders cannot be issued to a squad in a chimera. Does this apply to his own squad in the same chimera? The reason I ask is since Eldar farseers can cast fortune/guide on a squad in a transport if and only if they are in the same transport. This seems sort of like the same principle. I get why officers can't issue orders to squads in transports (It'd be kinda hard for them to hear through the hull), and I can get why you can issue orders from them (Some kind of loudspeaker or something, mobile command vehicle), but it seems kind of silly that he wouldn't be able to tell his own squad to do stuff.
The enemy's gate is down
It makes no sense at all, it's probably like that for balance.
Copy, Improve, Innovate
If you try to make sense of IG orders, you'll just end up with a headache. Like how all vox casters do is let you reroll order tests. Never mind that radios were invented to allow for long range battlefield communications... but for some reason Imperial voxs only work if they're within shouting range. Try and wrap your head around that one.
Yeah, the vox rules are the 2nd stupidest thing in the codex. The first being that Ogryns don't get the buffs from a Priest because they're too stupid to understand his ravings. If anything, that would make them MORE likely to do what he says. Not less.
As for the OP, you can't order yourself in a transport. Orders =/= psychic powers, so there's no direct precident.
OK I didn't think you could, but I wanted to make sure just in case. Thanks!
The enemy's gate is down
Rogue Trader (1st edition 40K, not the 40K RPG one) actually said that ground scale and model scale were different. Haven't seen this idea mentioned since.
For those who collect trivia
If I recall correctly, GW said somewhere that all table ranges were based on the actual theoretical range of a weapon divided by 3. So a lasgun with a 24" range would shoot 72" (Six Feet) if it were actually played in scale.
Leman Russ Battle Tank - Lexicanum and measuring my own tanks. If we use this formula, then the to-scale range of a battle cannon should be 216 inches. If we multiply that by 62, then we get 1,116 feet. Compared to the ranges on modern main battle tanks, that's pretty pathetic. M1 Abrams tanks have reported engaging at ranges up to 4000 meters, or around 13,000 feet. I think trying to impose a realistic sense of scale on the tabletop doesn't really make sense.
Remember though, that a gun's maximum range is different from it's effective range in a firefight. Most assault rifles will shoot fairly accurately out to 300 meters or so. But that's with careful aiming in a calm situation. Actual firefights tend to happen at 100 meters or less.
I'd be interested in finding out how far an Abrams can accurately shoot on the move.