"Blobbing" infantry squads... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member SheBeast76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    PA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x2)

    "Blobbing" infantry squads...

    Good morning,

    It would seem some opponents of mine have their own idea on what the special rule "combined squads" mean.

    So, I would like to know if anyone would tell me if my "view" is correct or not.

    For the sake of the arguement, let's go with an infantry platoon with two infantry squads. They both have a grenade launcher and a team with an autocannon. Now if I combine these squads together, as per their special rule, I'll have a 20man infantry squad with two grenade launchers and two teams with an autocannon.

    Am I correct?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot SandWyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,474
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    204 (x5)

    Yes, you are entirely correct.

    I assume they're saying you can only take 1 Special and 1 Heavy per blob?
    Come visit my blog at: www.warstrike.org

  4. #3
    Senior Member SheBeast76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    PA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by SandWyrm View Post
    Yes, you are entirely correct.

    I assume they're saying you can only take 1 Special and 1 Heavy per blob?

    Indeed, that is the point they argue.

  5. #4
    Son of LO IronWeevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,508
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    605 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by LeapingLizard76 View Post
    Indeed, that is the point they argue.
    Their argument is made of fail.
    Praise the Emperor and pass the promethium!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    28
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    agreed

  7. #6
    Senior Member SheBeast76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    PA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x2)

    Thank you all.

    I just love the people on these boards. Hehe.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot cKerensky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,677
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    146 (x5)

    The reason why it works, is that the units are completely separated until you deploy them. Since you don't purchase upgrades for them after you deploy them, you're fair game.

    But....I can honestly say I've never heard of anyone complaining about that before.
    Last edited by cKerensky; October 11th, 2010 at 19:25.

  9. #8
    Senior Member SheBeast76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    PA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by cKerensky View Post
    The reason why it works, is that the units are completely separated until you deploy them. Since you don't purchase upgrades for them after you deploy them, you're fair game.

    But....I can honestly say I've never heard of anyone complaining about that before. :p
    Yes, the rules in the codex are quite clear on that. You get to "combine" your infantry squads at deployment.

    Sometimes, I wonder if the trouble I'm having is because I'm a female player.

    I take it in stride, though, just opening my codex to the rules which seem to be offending the current opponent at the time. Hehe.
    Last edited by SheBeast76; October 11th, 2010 at 16:44. Reason: typo

  10. #9
    LO Zealot watchwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,457
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    185 (x4)

    I'm not entirely surprised, really. There's some marine players around who think that Combat Squads lets them buy 2 razerbacks for their unit.

    (Combat Squads is a rule in that lets you split a 10 man marine squad in half on deployment. It's basically the exact opposite if the IG Combined Squads rule)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts