Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i have an idea to take a librarian in my 7-man sternguard squad. To give my list a mobile shooty unit, iam gunna give the librarian vortex of doom and gate of infiney. my concern is that if u use gate of infiney counts as moving so u cant use vortex of doom becasue it count as heavy. so can u use GoI and still use VoD?
i had to drop one sternguard vet in order to fit the terminator armour on my libby into my list. i was wondering if i should keep the extra sternguard and take the libby without termie armour and take anoter shooting power such as the avenger or smith, or just stick with VoD.
I would stick with the Libby in Terminator armour b/c it gives you the ability to go: (enthusiatic tone) "My awesome Librarian just TELEPORTED across the board, AND killed your TANK/ DS unit. What now!" (back to serious mode) The terminator armour gives you the ability to shock and awe your opponent making him think that the unit that the Libby is in is more dangerous than it actually is. This will cause him to adjust his target priority and will give you a chance for your other units to capitalize on the break in shooting.
My Dice keep me in check
"My awesome Librarian just TELEPORTED across the board"
does this mean that i should not put the libby in with the sternguard, but instead keep him by himself?
TO my understnading using the Gate of Infinity COUNTS as moving and uses your movement phase, but you technically havnt moved via foot, you simply teleported and thus could still fire a heavy weapon in my opinion. The only reason you cant move and fire a heavy eapon (unless special rules say otherwise ie relenentless) is becasue you have to "brace" the weapon. So i dont see why you couldnt shoot heavy weapons if all you do is teleport.
It would be like saying your weapon is braced before you teleport and you hold that pose trhough the teleport and emerge in a new postion with the heavy weapon still braced, since you not walking you should be able to fire.
The Gate uses the move action but you dont technically move. Any thougts on this?
No dice. Gate deepstrikes via the deepstrike rules, which counts as the models having moved. Unless the model has a rule/ability that allows otherwise, they'll count as moving in the turn they deepstrike and won't be able to fire any heavy weapons which they might have. This includes the VoD spell, as it's a heavy 1 blast (barring the librarian being in terminator armour, of course)
you should still run the Libby in the squad as you can use them to soak wounds or visa versa. They also give you the extra kick when targeting infrantry squads. (especially Sternguard as thier special ammunition) Keep the Termi armour as it eliminates all arguements about whether you can teleport and use VoD in the same turn.
My Dice keep me in check
I ran a libby with Gate with my sternguard in the past. I hated it! I kept losing guys to the warp and drifting too far on the deepstrike into terrain or into the open no cover. Twice I scattered right back to where I started and lost guys to the stupid dangerous terrain tests...ugh!
Termi armor makes you relentless, so you can shoot a heavy weapon or use a psychic power that is "Heavy 1." The librarian power I like to use with sternguard is the Avenger. A nice AP3 attack that complements the special ammo. Also take Null Zone!
Once a Marine, always a Marine.