Making MOTF list competitive? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Making MOTF list competitive?

Before anyone asks, I have done a search and only found 1 decent thread with a couple of replies, plus I'm a bit of a noob, so please be kind!!

I'm currently doing an Iron Hands themed Master of the Forge army and was wondering if there's any way to make it more competitive? I intend to run a 6 dreadnought list, but thanks to the snow my mail order hasn't arrived as of yet to game with!!

So far I've had mixed results, getting a win in a practise game at 750pts (with 3 dreads; 1 basic and 2 Ironclads), losing 6-1 in kill points in annihilation (thanks as well to my terminators deep striking off the board!) and then drawing in capture and control.

Scouts seem to be the only real troop choice for a list if you want to go the whole hog and play with kitted out Ironclads. I'm going to run 3 Ironclads with most of the gubbins available and 3 venerable dreadnoughts - 2 dakka (lascannon and missile launcher). However, I am running a scout squad and 5 man tac squad at the moment. For objectives I sit a tac squad on my objective and go to ground, whilst my scouts act as a speed bump infiltrating in and my dreadnoughts then try to pummel the opposition into submission. My aim is to kill the opponent's troops choices to eliminate the chance of my objective being taken.