Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was just reading another thread about a dread using smoke and running when I thought of this.
The stormraven doesn't have smoke but the dread does, the dread is carried by the stormraven but isn't inside it, it's simply attached to the underside of the gun ship.
Can the dread use smoke while it's still attaced to the stormraven?
It was veringmeiers' thread about his DC dread using smoke and running that got me thinking about this and somthing else just occured to me.
In the smoke launcher rules is states a vheicle that pops smoke in it's movement phase gets a 4+ cover save untill the end of the next shooting phase. A vheicle that pops smoke can't shoot but there's nothing preventing it from running, assaulting or consolodating, which leads me to my question.
If I deploy my furioso from my stormraven, pop smoke, assault a unit, then consolodate back into the stormraven, what happens to the cover save?
As the dread has just climbed onto the stormraven does it take the 4+ cover save with it or does the cover save get wasted?
If my stormraven was out in the open and was about to take a lot of shooting could I just deploy my furioso to pop its smoke then run it back into the stormraven and give my stormraven a 4+ cover save?
Last edited by SkyDog; December 7th, 2010 at 21:51.
Isn't it counted as sorta inactive until its dropped off....That seems the logical situation.
Even so if the dread tried to shoot of smoke out of those tubes on top it would just hit the stormraven and might even bounce back into the dreadnought itself!! (Could you imagine a funniest home videos 40k edition, that would win 1st place). Only saying this as the whole game seems to be based of reality (with the addition of superhumans and physics etc.) soo if you can't do it in real life (with super technology) it won't be possible in game.
Now that I think about it, what's stopping the dread from shooting while attached to the stormraven?I wouldn't realy see that as a problem, the little smoke grenade isn't going to do any dammage, whatever it hits it's still going to vent its ploom of smoke.if the dread tried to shoot of smoke out of those tubes on top it would just hit the stormraven and might even bounce back into the dreadnought itself
Smoke happens when the dread moves so you could use it when you disembark. It's not much use otherwise (unless the stormraven gets shot down) but it could be argued that the dread doesn't have the opportunity to take a move other than disembarking while it's being transported (being effectively 'off the table') - thus denying it the chance to use smoke.
No, you can't smoke, just as you can't shoot or assault with the embarked dread until after it's disembarked.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
It's all acedemic, whatever the RAW this is just to cheeky to try in a game.
I'm just wondering if either option is definitivly surpported by the rules.
Granted, the stormraven is not open topped and has no fire points, but, would this effect somthing on the outside of the vheicle?
Units can shoot from embarked transports if it's open topped or have fire points. Would being underslung work the same way?
As it has no rule stating any exception to the regular transport rules, no.
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"