Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As most people already know by now, Vindicare Assassins get +4D6 armour penetration when using there Turbo-Penetrator ammo. Also, with their weapons being Snipers they are also treating as Pinning and more importantly Rending.
My question is can the Rending rule to roll an extra D3 on an Armour Penetrating roll of 6 trigger more then once?
I can't think of any situations where you would ever need to, hence the title, but out of my own morbid curiosity, and taste for overkill, would like to know. If so that means a Vindicare has a possible armour penetrating range of 7-39 with a AP 1 weapon and rerolls to hit...
Rules as intended would say that the shot is either rending or it isn't... not that it can be rending 4 times. Unsure of rules as written, but like you say - the minimum you'd have if you rolled two 6's and two 1's and a 1 on the first D3 for rending is 15 and a penetrating hit on anything, so you wouldn't need the second D3 ever even if you were allowed it.
'War does not determine who is right, only who is left'
I am President of the Brunel University wargames society - PM me if interested.
I think it does count. I cant remember which FAQ it appeared in but once I think it was asked what happens about rending on a monsterous creature if it rolled two 6s. It did get +2D3 extra penetration.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
Maybe this helps vs monoliths that have strange wording about + extra dice or extra rolls?
No they do absolutely nothing against monolith. Grot blastas do better. You can only ever have 1d6 armour pen against a monolith, ever, period, no exceptions. You need S8 to touch it.
“The ultimate philosophical question, “Am I human or machine” is answered by many people, “I don’t care, as long as I am”
- Myron Krueger
the rending entry says against vehicles an armour penetration roll of 6 allows for a further D3 to be rolled,with the result added to the total score ...so maybe the Codex beats that depending on if it says extra dice/ extra rolls or extra....
but the entry for the assassin says: a turbo penetrator has an AP of 4D6 ... so this is fine as you could still take it down
..but you are probably right the necron play will probably refuse you any rending extra dice
anyone else want to weigh in here?
Last edited by Grey nut; March 28th, 2011 at 14:50.
All vindicare vs monolith arguments basically boil down to "do we ignore the old faq or not"
(edit - though it also depends on which edition of the necron codex you have as not all of them include the sentence about using only a single D6)
Last edited by A.T.; March 28th, 2011 at 15:28.